Dr. Tess Gerritsen

Tess was Born in San Diego, California to Chinese American parents, she longed for a career as a writer, but her parents were skeptical that a writer’s salary could be lucrative, leading her to pursue a different course. She studied Anthropology at her undergraduate alma mater, Stanford University, earning a bachelor’s degree in the year 1975.

She went on to earn her medical degree from the University of California, San Francisco in the year 1979. After moving to Honolulu, she began practicing medicine full-time, while still treasuring writing to escape from daily life and as a kind of therapy. After winning an award of 500 US dollars for a short story she wrote in her spare time, she decided to pursue writing less as a valued hobby and more professionally.

Books in order of publication:

Rizzoli & Isles Books

The Surgeon(2001) 
The Apprentice(2002) 
The Sinner(2003) 
Body Double(2004) 
The Mephisto Club(2006) 
The Keepsake / Keeping The Dead(2008) 
Ice Cold / The Killing Place(2010) 
The Silent Girl(2011) 
Last to Die(2012) 
Die Again(2014) 
I Know A Secret(2017) 

Rizzoli & Isles Short Stories Books

John Doe(2012) 

Tavistock Family Books

In Their Footsteps(1994) 
Thief of Hearts(1995) 


Adventure’s Mistress(1985) 
Call After Midnight(1987) 
Under the Knife(1990) 
Never Say Die(1992) 
The Whistleblower(1992) 
Peggy Sue Got Murdered / Girl Missing(1994) 
Keeper of the Bride(1996) 
Life Support(1997) 
Presumed Guilty(1997) 
The Bone Garden(2007) 
Playing with Fire(2015) 
The Shape of Night(2019) 
On the Edge (With: Rita Herron)(2021) 
Choose Me (With: Gary Braver)(2021) 
No Reason to Trust (With: Barb Han)(2021)


In the Shadow of the Master(2003) 
Killer Year: Stories to Die For…(2008) 
No Rest for the Dead(2011)
%d bloggers like this: