Alan Hollingsworth

Alan James Hollinghurst FRSL (born 26 May 1954) is an English novelist, poet, short story writer and translator. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the 1989 Somerset Maugham Award, the 1994 James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the 2004 Booker Prize.

Books in order of publication:


  • Isherwood is at Santa Monica (Sycamore Broadsheet 22: two poems, hand-printed on a single folded sheet), Oxford: Sycamore Press 1975
  • Poetry Introduction 4 (ten poems: ‘Over the Wall’, ‘Nightfall’, ‘Survey’, ‘Christmas Day at Home’, ‘The Drowned Field’, ‘Alonso’, ‘Isherwood is at Santa Monica’, ‘Ben Dancing at Wayland’s Smithy’, ‘Convalescence in Lower Largo’, ‘The Well’), Faber, 1978
  • Confidential Chats with Boys, Oxford: Sycamore Press 1982 (based on the book Confidential Chats with Boys by William Lee Howard, MD., 1911, Sydney, Australia)[16]
  • ‘Mud’ (London Review of Books, Vol.4 No.19, 21 October 1982)


Short stories

  • A Thieving Boy (Firebird 2: Writing Today, Penguin, 1983)
  • Sharps and Flats (Granta 43, 1993) Was incorporated into The Folding Star
  • Highlights (Granta 100, 2007)
%d bloggers like this: