Ann Rule

American true crime writer and author has been writing for some years now, with her reputation for accuracy unparalleled. She has worked profiling some of the most heinous killers of the twentieth century in what has come to be known as her signature accessible style. With a number of books written under her name, her brand is still going strong to this day and that’s a trend that shows no signs of stopping anytime soon.

Early and Personal Life

The child of one Sophie Marie Hansen and Chester R. Stackhouse, Ann Rule was one of their two children born in Lowell, Michigan on the 22nd of October, 1930. With her father working as a sports coach and her mother a specialist in child development focusing on the disabled, she grew up in the local area there until she attended university. Surrounded by members of law enforcement from a young age, she was to gain a keen interest in crime early on. Her uncle and grandfather had been working as sheriffs for the local area, whilst her other uncle happened to be a medical examiner along with her cousin who worked as a prosecutor. This helped to sow the seeds of her interests, a fascination which grew during her time as a volunteer at the nearby local county jail.

Graduating from Coatesville High School, she then went onto attend the University of Washington, which is where she was to gain her degree in creative writing, whilst getting minors in psychology, criminology and penology. Later on she took further criminology courses at Highline Community College, furthering her awareness within the field. This all led her to her career as an accomplished chronicler of true crime.

Writing Career

Starting out as an officer operating within the Seattle Police Department, she would gain first-hand experience within the field, which she would then later use. At the beginning of her writing career itself she would go under the pseudonym of Andy Stack as she wrote for publications such as ‘True Detective’ amongst other periodicals, a career which she begun in 1969. This was to then lead her to her first book in 1980 with ‘The Stranger Beside Me’ which featured her gritty expose of serial killer Ted Bundy. She wrote this using her name, as her career as a prolific true crime writer was to follow.

Although she wrote her next three books under her original pen-name of Andy Stack, she soon went back to her own name once success picked up. Later she was to receive many accolades for her contributions to the arena of crime writing in the twentieth century, notably one from the ‘Library of America’ when they chose to select her story titled ‘Young Love’, which had been featured in her ‘Empty Promises’ anthology, for their true crime retrospective. Many more awards and praise were to follow as she gained recognition during a True Crime Zine poll from its readers, citing her work as some of the best of 2012 with her book ‘Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors and Other True Cases’. All of this has led to her becoming one of the most prominent voices within her genre as she’s provided much to advance it, something which she aims to continue doing in the many years to come.

Books in order of publication by series:

Crime Files Books

A Rose for Her Grave and Other True Cases(1993) 
You Belong to Me and Other True Crime Cases(1994) 
A Fever in the Heart and Other True Cases(1996) 
In the Name of Love and Other True Cases(1998) 
The End of the Dream(1998) 
A Rage to Kill and Other True Cases(1999) 
Empty Promises and Other True Cases(2001) 
Last Dance, Last Chance(2001) 
Kiss Me, Kill Me and Other True Cases(2004) 
Worth More Dead and Other True Cases(2005) 
No Regrets and Other True Cases(2006) 
Smoke, Mirrors, and Murder and Other True Cases(2007) 
Mortal Danger and Other True Cases(2008) 
But I Trusted You and Other True Cases(2009) 
Don’t Look Behind You(2011) 
Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors and Other True Cases(2012) 
Lying in Wait and Other True Cases(2014) 

Standalone Novels


Non-Fiction Books

The Stranger Beside Me(1980) 
Lust Killer(1981) 
The Want-Ad Killer(1983) 
The I-5 Killer(1984) 
Mind Games(1984) 
Small Sacrifices(1987) 
If You Really Loved Me(1991) 
Everything She Ever Wanted(1992) 
Dead By Sunset(1995) 
Bitter Harvest(1997) 
And Never Let Her Go(1999) 
Jerry Harris Case(1999) 
Every Breath You Take(2001) 
Without Pity(2003) 
Heart Full of Lies(2003) 
Green River, Running Red(2004) 
Too Late to Say Goodbye(2007) 
In the Still of the Night(2010) 
Practice to Deceive(2013) 

%d bloggers like this: