Anthony Burgess

Anthony Burgess was a British non-fiction and fiction and literary author. Anthony was born on Feb 25th, 1917 in Manchester and studied at the Xavierian College and later on lectured at Birmingham University. Burgess spent considerable time traveling the world. In his lifetime he has toured south-east Asia, Mediterranean Europe, and England. Anthony served in the military for a substantial period on the battlefield and later as an education officer.
The author has written many books both fiction and non-fiction among them the Malayan trilogy, Shakespeare and Lawrence among others. Anthony is also credited with composing over 250 musical works. Additionally, he also worked as a screenwriter with screenplays such as Moses The Lawgiver and Jesus of Nazareth.

Books in order of publication:

Malayan Trilogy Books

Time for a Tiger(1956) 
The Enemy in the Blanket(1957) 
Beds in the East(1959) 

Enderby Books

Enderby Outside(1968) 
The Clockwork Testament(1974) 
Enderby’s Dark Lady(1984) 

Standalone Novels

The Wanting Seed(1956) 
The Doctor is Sick(1960) 
The Right to an Answer(1960) 
Devil of a State(1961) 
One Hand Clapping(1961) 
The Worm and the Ring(1961) 
A Clockwork Orange(1962) 
Honey for the Bears(1963) 
Inside Mr. Enderby(1963) 
The Eve of Saint Venus(1964) 
Nothing Like the Sun(1964) 
A Vision of Battlements(1965) 
Tremor of Intent(1966) 
Napoleon Symphony(1974) 
A Long Trip to Teatime(1976) 
Beard’s Roman Women(1976) 
Abba Abba(1977) 
Man of Nazareth(1979) 
The Kingdom of the Wicked(1980) 
Earthly Powers(1980) 
The End of the World News(1982) 
The Pianoplayers(1986) 
Any Old Iron(1989) 
Mozart and teh Wolf Gang(1991) 
A Dead Man in Deptford(1993) 
The Black Prince(2018) 


Oberon Old and New(1985) 
Blooms of Dublin(1986) 
A Clockwork Orange 2004(1990) 

Non-Fiction Books

Language Made Plain(1964) 
Here Comes Everybody(1965) 
Coaching Days of England(1966) 
Urgent Copy(1966) 
Age of the Grand Tour(1967) 
The Novel Now(1967) 
New York(1977) 
Ernest Hemingway and His World(1978) 
On Going to Bed(1982) 
This Man and Music(1982) 
The Heritage of British Literature(1983) 
99 Novels(1984) 
Flame Into Being(1985) 
Homage to QWERT YUIOP(1986) 
Little Wilson and Big God(1987) 
You’ve Had Your Time(1990) 
On Mozart(1991) 
A Mouthful of Air(1993)
%d bloggers like this: