Arthur Upfield

Arthur Upfield was a prominent author of half English and half Australian descent. He was born as Arthur William Upfield on September 01, 1890 and died on February 12, 1964.

He is best remembered for his exciting works based on the detective fiction genre. The most famous book series written by author Upfield was titled as DI Napoleon Bonaparte series. This series features an Australian police officer named Napoleon Bonaparte from the Police Force of Queensland. He has been described by author Upfield in the series as a half caste Aborigine.

The books written by author Upfield were used as the basis for the development of the successful Australian television detective series named ‘Boney’ during the 1970s, and a 1990 film and a television spin-off series in the year 1992.

Author Upfield’s birth took place in Hampshire and then he immigrated to Australia in the year 1911, where he was a part of the military forces of Australia, fighting in 1st World War. After his military service got over at the end of the War, he traveled to several places throughout Australia. By doing so, he got acquainted with the culture of the Australian Aborigine.

Books in order of publication:

Inspector Bonaparte Books

The Barrakee Mystery/The Lure of the Bush(1929) 
The Sands of Windee(1931) 
Wings Above the Diamantina(1936) 
Mr. Jelly’s Business/Murder Down Under(1937) 
Winds of Evil(1937) 
The Bone is Pointed(1938) 
The Mystery of Swordfish Reef(1939) 
Bushranger of the Skies/No Footprints in the Bush(1940) 
Death of a Swagman(1945) 
The Devil’s Steps(1946) 
An Author Bites the Dust(1948) 
The Mountains Have a Secret(1948) 
The Bachelors of Broken Hill(1950) 
The Widows of Broome(1951) 
The New Shoe/The Clue of the New Shoe(1951) 
Venom House(1952) 
Murder Must Wait(1953) 
Death of a Lake(1954) 
Sinister Stones/Cake in the Hat Box(1954) 
The Battling Prophet(1956) 
Man of Two Tribes(1956) 
Bony Buys a Woman/The Bushman Who Came Back(1957) 
Bony And The Mouse/Journey to the Hangman(1959) 
Bony and the Black Virgin/The Torn Branch(1959) 
Bony and the Kelly Gang/Valley Of Smugglers(1960) 
Bony And The White Savage(1961) 
The Will of the Tribe(1962) 
Madman’s Bend/The Body at Madman’s Bend(1963) 
The Lake Frome Monster(1966) 

Short Stories Books

Up and Down Australia(2008) 
Up and Down the Real Australia(2009) 
Up and Down Australia Again(2010) 

Standalone Novels

The House of Cain(1928) 
The Beach of Atonement(1930) 
The Great Melbourne Cup Mystery(1932) 
Gripped by Drought(1932) 
A Royal Abduction(1932) 
Breakaway House(1987) 

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Murchison Murders(1934) 
The Gifts of Frank Cobbold(2008) 
Beyond the Mirage(2020)
%d bloggers like this: