Benjamin Pimlott

Benjamin John Pimlott FBA (4 July 1945 – 10 April 2004), known as Ben Pimlott, was a British historian of the post-war period in Britain. He made a substantial contribution to the literary genre of political biography.

A professor of modern British political history, Ben Pimlott was professor of contemporary history at Birkbeck College, London, from 1987 to 1998, and warden of Goldsmith’s College from 1998 until his death in 2004.

Books in order of publication:

Labour and the Left in the 1930s – 1977

Hugh Dalton – 1985

The Alternative: Politics for a Change – 1990

Harold Wilson – 1993

Frustrate Their Knavish Tricks – 1994

The Queen: A Biography of Elizabeth II – 1996

%d bloggers like this: