Bernard Maclaverty

Bernard Maclaverty was born in Belfast in 1942 and lived there until 1975 when he moved to Scotland with his wife, Madeline, and four children. He has been a Medical Laboratory Technician, a mature student, a teacher of English and, for two years in the mid-eighties, Writer-in-Residence at the University of Aberdeen.

After living for a time in Edinburgh and the Isle of Islay he now lives in Glasgow. He is a member of Aosdana in Ireland and is Visiting Writer/Professor at the University of Strathclyde.

Currently he is employed as a teacher of creative writing on a postgraduate course in prose fiction run by the Research Institute of Irish and Scottish Studies at the University of Aberdeen.

He has published five collections of short stories and four novels. He has written versions of his fiction for other media – radio plays, television plays, screenplays. Recently he wrote and directed a short film ‘Bye-Child’.

Books in order of publication:

Secrets and Other Stories – 1979

Lamb – 1980

A Time to Dance – 1982

Cal – 1983

The Great Profundo and Other Stories – 1987

Grace Notes – 1987

Walking the Dog: And Other Stories – 1994

The Anatomy School – 2001

Matters of Life & Death – 2006

Midwinter Break – 2017

%d bloggers like this: