Bob Woodward

Bob Woodward

Robert Upshur Woodward (born March 26, 1943) is an American investigative journalist. He started working for The Washington Post as a reporter in 1971 and currently holds the title of associate editor.

While a young reporter for The Washington Post in 1972, Woodward teamed up with Carl Bernstein; the two did much of the original news reporting on the Watergate scandal. These scandals led to numerous government investigations and the eventual resignation of President Richard Nixon. The work of Woodward and Bernstein was called “maybe the single greatest reporting effort of all time” by longtime journalism figure Gene Roberts.

Woodward continued to work for The Washington Post after his reporting on Watergate. He has written 21 books on American politics and current affairs, 13 of which have topped best-seller lists.

Books in order of publication:

Woodward has co-authored or authored thirteen No. 1 national bestselling non-fiction books.

All the President’s Men (1974) about the Watergate scandal; written with Carl Bernstein

The Final Days (1976) about Nixon’s resignation; written with Carl Bernstein

The Brethren (1979) about the Supreme Court in the Warren E. Burger years;; written with Scott Armstrong

Wired (1984) on the death of John Belushi and the Hollywood drug culture

Veil: The Secret Wars of the CIA (1987) about the CIA’s “secret wars” during the tenure of William J. Casey

The Commanders (1991) on The Pentagon, the first Bush administration and the Gulf War

The Agenda (1994) about Bill Clinton’s first year in office

The Choice (1996) about the second half of Bill Clinton’s first term, his preparations for his re-election bid, and the 1996 Republican Party presidential primaries

Shadow (1999) on the legacy of Watergate and the scandals that faced later Presidential administrations

Maestro (2000) about Federal Reserve chairman Alan Greenspan

Bush at War (2002) about the path to war with Afghanistan following September 11

Plan of Attack (2004) about how and why President George W. Bush decided to go to war with Iraq

The Secret Man: The Story of Watergate’s Deep Throat (2005) about Mark Felt’s disclosure, after more than 30 years, that he was Deep Throat.

State of Denial: Bush at War, Part III (2006) about the Bush administration and the War in Iraq

The War Within: A Secret White House History (2006–2008) (2008)

Obama’s Wars (2010) about the Obama administration’s handling of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan

The Price of Politics (2012) about President Obama and congressional Republican and Democratic leaders’ attempt to restore the American economy and improve the federal government’s fiscal condition over 3.5 years.

The Last of the President’s Men (2015) about Alexander Butterfield, the Nixon aide who disclosed the secret White House taping system that changed history and led to Nixon’s resignation.

Fear: Trump in the White House (2018).

Rage (September 15, 2020).

Peril (September 2021), co-authored with journalist Robert Costa

%d bloggers like this: