Brian Moore

Brian Moore was born August 25, 1921 in Belfast, Northern Ireland. He was an Irish novelist that immigrated to Canada and then to the United States. He grew up in a large family with eight siblings. His dad, named James Bernard Moore, was a prominent surgeon and the first Catholic to sit on the senate of Queen’s University, while his mom, Eileen McFadden Moore, was a farmer’s daughter from County Donegal, was a nurse.

He was known as a “writer’s writer”, composing novels that were quite different from one another in setting, voice, and incident however alike in their elegant, lucid, and vivid prose.

Books in order of publication:

Standalone Novels

Sailor’s Leave / Wreath for a Redhead(1951) 
The Executioners(1951) 
French for Murder(1954) 
The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne(1955) 
A Bullet For My Lady(1955) 
The Feast Of Lupercal(1957) 
Murder in Majorca (As: Michael Bryan)(1957) 
Intent to Kill (As: Michael Bryan)(1958) 
The Luck of Ginger Coffey(1960) 
An Answer from Limbo(1962) 
The Emperor of Ice Cream(1965) 
I am Mary Dunne(1968) 
Moment of Love(1969) 
The Revolution Script(1972) 
The Great Victorian Collection(1975) 
The Doctor’s Wife(1976) 
The Mangan Inheritance(1979) 
The Temptation of Eileen Hughes(1981) 
Cold Heaven(1983) 
Black Robe(1985) 
The Colour of Blood(1987) 
Lies of Silence(1990) 
No Other life(1993) 
The Statement(1995) 
The Magician’s Wife(1997) 
%d bloggers like this: