Bruce Pascoe

Bruce Pascoe (born 1947) is an Aboriginal Australian writer of literary fiction, non-fiction, poetry, essays and children’s literature. As well as his own name, Pascoe has written under the pen names Murray Gray and Leopold Glass. Since August 2020, he has been Enterprise Professor in Indigenous Agriculture at the University of Melbourne.

Pascoe is best known for his work Dark Emu: Black Seeds: Agriculture or Accident?, which reexamines colonial accounts of Aboriginal people in Australia and cites evidence of pre-colonial agriculture, engineering and building construction by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Books in order of publication:

A Corner Full of Characters, Blackstone Press, 1981

Night Animals, Penguin Books, 1986

Fox, McPhee Gribble/Penguin books, 1988

Ruby-eyed Coucal, Magabala Books, 1996

Wathaurong : Too bloody strong : Stories and life journeys of people from Wathaurong, Pascoe Publishing, 1997

Cape Otway: Coast of secrets (1997)

Shark, Magabala Books, 1999

Nightjar, Seaglass Books, 2000

Earth, Magabala Books, 2001

Ocean, Bruce Sims Books, 2002

Foxies in a Firehose : A piece of doggerel from Warragul, Seaglass Books, 2006

Bloke. Penguin Books Limited. 3 August 2009.

Convincing Ground: Learning to Fall in Love with Your Country. Aboriginal Studies Press. 2007.

The Little Red Yellow Black Book : An introduction to indigenous Australia, Aboriginal Studies Press, 2008

Fog a Dox, Magabala Books, 2012

Dark Emu: Black Seeds: Agriculture Or Accident?, Magabala Books, 2014

Seahorse, Magabala Books, 2015

Mrs Whitlam, Magabala Books, 2016

Young Dark Emu: A Truer History, Magabala Books, 2019

Salt: Selected Stories and Essays, Black Inc, 2019

%d bloggers like this: