C. V. Wedgewood

Dame (Cicely) Veronica Wedgwood OM DBE was an English historian who published under the name C. V. Wedgwood. Specializing in the history of 17th-century England and Continental Europe, her biographies and narrative histories “provided a clear, entertaining middle ground between popular and scholarly works.”

Books in order of publication:

Thomas Wentworth: First Earl of Strafford 1593-1641: A Revaluation1935
The Thirty Years War1938
Oliver Cromwell1939
The Emperor Charles V: The Growth and Destiny of a Man and of a World-Empire1939
William the Silent: William of Nassau, Prince of Orange 1533-15841944
Velvet Studies1948
Richelieu and the French Monarchy1949
The Last of the Radicals1951
The King’s Peace, 1637-16411955
Edward Gibbon1955
The King’s War, 1641-16471958
The Sense of the Past: Thirteen Studies in the Theory and Practice of History1960
A Coffin for King Charles: The Trial and Execution of Charles I1964
The World of Rubens: 1577-16401967
Milton and His World1969
Seventeenth-Century English Literature1970
Oliver Cromwell and the Elizabethan Inheritance1970
The Political Career of Peter Paul Rubens1975
The Spoils of Time: A History of the World from Earliest Times to the Sixteenth Century1984
History and Hope: The Collected Essays of C.V. Wedgwood1987
The Trial of Charles I2001
The English Civil War2001
Poetry and Politics under the Stuarts2003
Battlefields in Britain2014
%d bloggers like this: