Carol Ann Shields

Carol Ann Shields, CC OM FRSC (June 2, 1935 – July 16, 2003) was an American-born Canadian novelist and short story writer. She is best known for her 1993 novel The Stone Diaries, which won the U.S. Pulitzer Prize for Fiction as well as the Governor General’s Award in Canada.

Books in order of publication:


  • Small Ceremonies, 1976 (winner of the Canadian Author’s Association Award)
  • The Box Garden, 1977 (Later published in a joint edition with Small Ceremonies as Duet)
  • Happenstance, 1980
  • A Fairly Conventional Woman, 1982 (Later published as a joint edition with Happenstance as Happenstance)
  • Swann: A Mystery, 1987 (UK title: Mary Swann)(Arthur Ellis Award for Best Canadian Mystery, 1988)
  • A Celibate Season, 1991 (with Blanche Howard)
  • The Republic of Love, 1992
  • The Stone Diaries, 1993 (winner of the Governor General’s Award, National Book Critics Circle Award, and the Pulitzer Prize)
  • Larry’s Party, 1997 (winner of the Orange Prize, and the Prix de Livre)
  • Unless, 2002 (winner of the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, shortlisted in 2002 Man Booker Prize and ScotiaBank/Giller Prize, and shortlisted in 2003 Orange Prize)

Short stories

  • Words, 1985
  • Various Miracles, 1985
  • The Orange Fish, 1989
  • Dressing Up for the Carnival, 2000
  • Collected Stories. Toronto: Random House, 2004.


  • Others. Ottawa: Borealis Press, 1972.
  • Intersect. Ottawa: Borealis Press, 1974.
  • Coming to Canada. Ottawa: Carleton University Press, 1992.


  • Departures and Arrivals, 1990
  • Thirteen Hands, 1993
  • Fashion Power Guilt and the Charity of Families, 1995 (with Catherine Shields)
  • Anniversary: A Comedy, 1998 (with Dave Williamson)
  • Women Waiting, 1983
  • Unless, 2005
  • Larry’s Party – the Musical, 2000 (adapted by Richard Ouzounian with music by Marek Norman)
  • Thirteen Hands and Other Plays. Toronto: Vintage, 2002.


  • Susanna Moodie: Voice and Vision, 1976


  • Jane Austen. New York: Viking, 2001.


  • Dropped Threads: What We aren’t Told. Toronto: Vintage, 2001. (edited with Marjorie Anderson)
  • Dropped Threads 2: More of What We aren’t Told. Toronto: Vintage, 2003. (edited with Marjorie Anderson)
%d bloggers like this: