Charlaine Harris Schulz

Charlaine Harris is a New – York Times best-selling author born November 25, 1951 and for thirty years she has being writing mysteries. She was raised and born in the area of Mississippi River Delta of United States. Currently, she lives in southern – Arkansas with three children and her husband. Although her early work mostly consisted of poems about teenage angst and ghosts, she later began play writing when she joined Rhodes College found in Memphis- Tennessee. A few years after, she began to write books. Her later novels have been in the genre of urban fantasy. She is well known for the series The Southern – Vampire Mysteries which is also referred to as The Sookie Stackhouse Novels.

Career and Life

Charlaine Harris birth place is Mississippi- Tunica area. It is after writing two stand alone mysteries that she began the light-hearted Aurora Teagarden novels with Real Murders. It was a Best Book 1190 Agatha Awards nomination. She wrote many books in the series before she began branching to other works in mid 1990s. With exceptions of short stories, she never resumed the series until year 1999.

In year 1996, Harris wrote the first in Shakespeare series that featured cleaning woman detective Lily Bard and it was set in rural – Arkansas. The series’ fifth book Shakespeare’s Counselor’ was printed in year 2001 and it was followed by Dead Giveaway’ which is a short story printed in the Ellery – Queen Mystery – Magazine in December 2001. She has stated that she has already finished with the story on her website.

Harris later created The Southern – Vampire Mysteries series which talks about telepathic – waitress known as Sookie Stackhouse who goes to work in a northern – Louisiana bar. Dead until Dark which is the first book in the series won the Best Paper-back Mystery Anthony Award in year 2001. Each of the novels follow Sookie as she does her best to come up with solutions of mysteries involving werewolves, vampires and other super-natural creatures. This series has been watched in many countries in Europe and others countries including Mexico and Brazil. In the series, Charlaine Harris has written thirteen books and Dead Ever After is the 13th and final novel in the books and it was printed in May 2003 with After Dead a Supplemental book released in year 2013 October.

The Harper – Connelly Mysteries Harris’ new series debut was October 2005 with Grave Sight release. The series is narrated by a young lady named Harper – Connelly who is able to get location of dead bodies after being stuck by lightning and later see their last times through the deceased eyes. It was in October 2010 that it was announced that the series had been chosen for a Grave Sight television series. Year 2014 marked the Cemetery – Girl series debut which a graphic novel co- is written with Christopher – Golden and it was illustration done by Don – Kramer. >

Charlaine Harris professionally is a American – Crime – Writers League and Mystery – Writers of America member. She is in addition a Sisters in Crime board member and she and Joan Hess alternates as Arkansas – Mystery Writers Alliance president.

In her private life, Charlaine Harris has being married for years and she has two grandchildren and three children. In addition, Harris is a former karate student and weightlifter and she is a cinemaphile and avid reader. In her current residence- Magnolia in Arkansas, Harris is the St. James – Episcopal Church senior warden.

Real Murders

Real Murders which is Harris’ first novel and the first of eight of Aurora Teagarden mysteries was released in year 1990.

Summary of the plot

Monthly, local – crime buffs meet in Lawrenceton which is a small town in Georgia to analyze murder cases that are famous. They all get a bit surprised as one among them is bludgeoned in the same way as the crime that was to be talked about that night. Aurora Roe Teagarden the librarian is not only a club member but also a murder suspect and a potential victim as other murders follow. Each of the murders is mimicking a crime that is famous. Roe has to work very quickly to discover which of her fellow members the killer is. It could be the new mystery write in town who had said he is bored with just writing, it could be the police detective who has sudden romantic interest in Roe or one of the other twelve members of the Real Murders Club.

A Bone to – Pick

It was published in year 1992 and it is the second of the eight Aurora Teagarden Mysteries by Harris. Aurora Roe Teagarden having inherited very big estate from a member of Real Murders club that is now defunct is ,mystified by a mere acquaintance’s jewelry, gift of money and a two bedroom house and I the window seat there was a skull. Roe has to figure out whether the old lady killed someone and then leave Roe to solve the mystery or whether she was being framed roe must find out before Arthur her ex- boyfriend, Aubrey her new lover and the police detective figure out what she is up to.

Her third book of eight novels in the Aurora Teagarden Mysteries by Harris is three – bedrooms, one- corpse and in this novel, Aurora Roe Teagarden searches for her American dream piece and she decides to test the family business waters- real estate sales. But she is surprised to know that only one thing that is there is a naked dead body in the first house she comes to know. She later realizes there is more to real estate than she knows or thought when a second body shows up in another home.

Her first book in Southern – Vampire Mysteries series is Dead Until Dark and it is narrated by Sookie Stackhouse who is a telepathic waitress. It is set at approximately the same time the novel was published. At some point, Sookie narrates how the invention of synthetic blood has made it very unnecessary for vampires to eat humans for sustenance. She narrates how The Great Revelation was an event that was televised internationally in which the vampires expressed their desire for peaceful coexistence with the humans. Also very important to development of the plot is the fact that vampire blood is illegal drug and addictive which among other effects it accelerates healing.

Books in order of publication by series:

Aurora Teagarden Books

Real Murders(1990) 
A Bone to Pick(1992) 
Three Bedrooms, One Corpse(1994) 
The Julius House(1995) 
Dead Over Heels(1996) 
A Fool And His Honey(1999) 
Last Scene Alive(2002) 
Poppy Done to Death(2003) 
All the Little Liars(2016) 
Sleep Like a Baby(2017) 

Lily Bard Books

Shakespeare’s Landlord(1996) 
Shakespeare’s Champion(1997) 
Shakespeare’s Christmas(1998) 
Shakespeare’s Trollop(2000) 
Shakespeare’s Counselor(2001) 

Sookie Stackhouse Books

Dead Until Dark(2001) 
Living Dead in Dallas(2002) 
Club Dead(2003) 
Dead to the World(2004) 
Dead as a Doornail(2005) 
Definitely Dead(2006) 
All Together Dead(2007) 
From Dead to Worse(2008) 
Dead and Gone(2009) 
Dead in the Family(2010) 
Dead Reckoning(2011) 
Dead Ever After(2013) 
After Dead(2013) 

Sookie Stackhouse Collections

The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories(2017)

Sookie Stackhouse Anthologies

Dead But Not Forgotten(2014) 

Harper Connelly Books

Grave Sight(2005) 
Grave Surprise(2006) 
An Ice Cold Grave(2007) 
Grave Secret(2009) 

Harper Connelly Graphic Novels

Grave Sight, Part 1(2011) 
Grave Sight, Part 2(2011) 
Grave Sight, Part 3(2012) 

Midnight, Texas Books

Midnight Crossroad(2014) 
Day Shift(2015) 
Night Shift(2016) 

Cemetery Girl Books

The Pretenders(2014) 

Gunnie Rose Books

An Easy Death(2018) 
A Longer Fall(2020) 

Standalone Novels

Sweet and Deadly(1981) 
A Secret Rage(1984) 
Inherit the Dead(2013) 

Short Stories/Novellas

Dancers in the Dark(2013) 
Layla Steps Up(2018) 
%d bloggers like this: