Charles David Wendig

Charles David Wendig (born April 22, 1976) is an American author, comic book writer, screenwriter, and blogger. He is best known for his online blog Terribleminds, for his 2015 Star Wars novel trilogy Aftermath, the first book of which debuted at #4 on The New York Times Best Seller list and #4 on USA Today‘s best seller list, for which series he created the character of marshal Cobb Vanth. Wendig has additionally written comics for Dark Circle Comics, Dynamite Entertainment, Marvel Comics, and VS Comics.

He was a finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 2013.

Books in order of publication:

Young adult fiction

Atlanta Burns series

Atlanta Burns (2015)

The Hunt (2016)

Atlanta Burns was previously self-published in two volumes, the novella Shotgun Gravy (2011), and the follow-up novel Bait Dog (2012).

The Heartland trilogy

Under the Empyrean Sky (2013)

Blightborn (2014)

The Harvest (2015)

A short story titled “The Wind Has Teeth Tonight” was released in 2014 and takes place between the first and second book.


Miriam Black series

Blackbirds (2012)

Mockingbird (2012)

The Cormorant (2013)

Thunderbird (2017)

The Raptor & The Wren (2018)

Vultures (2019)

A bridging novelette titled “Interlude: Swallow” was released in 2015 in the anthology Three Slices, featuring work by Wendig, Delilah S. Dawson, and Kevin Hearne. It takes place between the third and fourth book.

Mookie Pearl series

The Blue Blazes (2013)

The Hellsblood Bride (2015)

Zer0es series

Zer0es (2015)

Invasive (2016)

Standalone Novels

Wanderers (2019)

The Book of Accidents (2021)

Tie-in fiction

Dinocalypse trilogy

Dinocalypse Now (2012)

Beyond Dinocalypse (2013)

Gods and Monsters series

Unclean Spirits (2013)

Star Wars: Aftermath trilogy

Aftermath (2015)

Aftermath: Life Debt (2016)

Aftermath: Empire’s End (2017)

The Aftermath trilogy explores the events between the films Return of the Jedi and The Force Awakens, introducing the character of Cobb Vanth.

Tomes of the Dead series

Double Dead (2011)

Bad Blood (2012) (novella)

Collected as The Complete Double Dead in February 2016 by Abaddon Books.

Short fiction

“Bourbon Street Lullaby”, Not One of Us #18, ed. John M. Benson (1997, as C.D. Wendig)

“Roachboy”, Whispers from the Shattered Forum #5, ed. Cullen Bunn (2000, as C. David Wendig)

“Squirrely Skin”, Vermin, ed. David A. Rose (2009)

“The Moko-Jumbie Girl”, Beauty Has Her Way, ed. Jennifer Brozek (2011)

“The Toll”, Human Tales, ed. Jennifer Brozek (2011)

“Riding The Thunderbird”, Tales of the Far West, ed. Gareth-Michael Skarka (2012)

“I Want to Be a Lioness”, Help Fund My Robot Army!!! and Other Improbable Crowdfunding Projects, ed. John Joseph Adams (2014)

“The Wind Has Teeth Tonight” (2014)

“The Forever Endeavor”, serialized over 12 parts in Fireside Magazine, ed. Brian J. White (2014)

“Big Man”, Dangerous Games, ed. Jonathan Oliver (2014)

“Queen of the Supermarket”, Trouble in the Heartland, ed. Joe Clifford (2014)

“Interlude: Swallow”, Three Slices (2015)


Confessions of a Freelance Penmonkey (2011)

250 Things You Should Know About Writing (2011)

Revenge of the Penmonkey (2011)

500 Ways To Be a Better Writer (2011)

500 More Ways To Be a Better Writer (2012)

500 Ways To Tell a Better Story (2012)

The Kickass Writer: 1001 Ways to Write Great Fiction, Get Published, and Earn Your Audience (2013)

500 Ways To Write Harder (2014)

30 Days In The Word Mines (2014)

Damn Fine Story (2017)

%d bloggers like this: