Charles Dickens

The most popular novelist in English literature, Charles Dickens was born on 7 February 1812 at the Commercial Road Landport, Portsea in Hampshire. His father, John Dickens was a clerk in the navy pay office. It was not easy for him to make both ends meet so he incurred debts and after struggling with them for many years, he finally shifted to Chatham when Charles was nine years of age.

Charles Dickens began his career as a writer with Sketches by Boz in 1836. It was a series dealing with London life in the manner and style of Leigh Hunt. However, the earliest of Charles Dicken’s work that caught appreciation was Pickwick Papers which was published in 1836. It was written at the suggestion of an editor, for serial publication. It contains some seventy distinct situations and more than four hundred characters, some of them coming on the stage only once to win for them an immortal place in our hearts.

Books in order of publication:

Standalone Novels

The Pickwick Papers(1837) 
The Adventures of Oliver Twist(1838) 
The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickelby(1839) 
Barnaby Rudge(1841) 
Master Humphrey’s Clock(1841) 
Old Curiosity Shop(1841) 
A Christmas Carol(1843) 
The Life and Adventures of Martin Chuzzlewit(1844) 
The Chimes(1844) 
The Cricket on the Hearth(1845) 
The Battle of Life(1846) 
Dombey and Son(1848) 
The Haunted Man and the Ghost’s Bargain(1848) 
David Copperfield(1850) 
Bleak House(1853) 
Hard Times(1854) 
Little Dorrit(1855) 
A Tale of Two Cities(1859) 
Great Expectations(1861) 
Our Mutual Friend(1865) 
The Mystery of Edwin Drood(1870) 

Short Story Collection Books

Sketches by Boz(1836) 
Master Humphrey’s clock Volume 2(1841) 
The Poor Traveller/ Boots at the Holly-tree Inn(1858) 
Reprinted Pieces(1861) 
Mudfog and other papers contributed to Bentley’s miscellany(1880) 
The Signalman & Other Ghost Stories(1984) 


Great Law and Order Stories(1990)
%d bloggers like this: