Charles McCarry

Charles McCarry was born June 14, 1930 in Pittsfield, Massachusetts, and he lived in Virginia.

McCarry served in the United States Army, where he was a correspondent for Stars & Stripes, was a speech writer in the Eisenhower administration, and was a small-town newspaperman. From 1958 to 1967 he worked for the CIA, under deep cover in places such as Europe, Africa, and Asia. His cover, however, was not as a journalist or writer.

Charles believed that the best novels are just about every day, ordinary things like death, love, loneliness, fatherhood, trust, and marriage. These were the themes that he also tried to write abo

He died in Fairfax County, Virginia on February 26, 2019, at the age of 88. He was married and had four sons. His family lived in the Berkshire region, an area where his family still lives.

Books in order of publication:

Paul Christopher Books

The Miernik Dossier(1973) 
The Tears of Autumn(1974) 
The Secret Lovers(1977) 
The Better Angels(1979) 
The Last Supper(1983) 
The Bride of the Wilderness(1988) 
Second Sight(1991) 
Shelley’s Heart(1995) 
Old Boys(2004) 
Christopher’s Ghosts(2007) 
Note: In the chronological order, The Last Supper partly takes place 2nd but also after The Tears of Autumn.

Standalone Novels

Double Eagle(1979) 
Lucky Bastard(1998) 
The Shanghai Factor(2013) 
The Mulberry Bush(2015) 

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Citizen Nader(1972) 
The Great Southwest(1980) 
Paths of Resistance (With: Isabel Allende,Gore Vidal)(1989) 
Inner Circles; How America Changed the World(1992) 
From the Field(1997) 
%d bloggers like this: