Christina Stead

Christina Stead (1902–1983) was an Australian writer regarded as one of the twentieth century’s master novelists. Stead spent most of her writing life in Europe and the United States, and her varied residences acted as the settings for several her novels. She is best known for The Man Who Loved Children (1940), which was praised by author Jonathan Franzen as a “crazy, gorgeous family novel” and “one of the great literary achievements of the twentieth century.” Stead died in her native Australia in 1983.

Books in order of publication:


Seven Poor Men of Sydney (1934)

The Beauties and Furies (1936)

House of All Nations (1938)

The Man Who Loved Children (1940)

For Love Alone (1945)

Letty Fox: Her Luck (1946)

A Little Tea, a Little Chat (1948)

The People with the Dogs (1952)

Dark Places of the Heart (1966) (aka Cotters’ England)

The Little Hotel (1973)

Miss Herbert (The Suburban Wife) (1976)

I’m Dying Laughing: The Humourist (1986)

%d bloggers like this: