Christopher Hibbert

Christopher Hibbert (born Arthur Raymond Hibbert) MC (5 March 1924 – 21 December 2008), was an English author, historian and biographer. He has been called “a pearl of biographers” (New Statesman) and “probably the most widely-read popular historian of our time and undoubtedly one of the most prolific” (The Times).[1] Hibbert was a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and the author of many books, including The Story of England, Disraeli, Edward VII, George IV, The Rise and Fall of the House of Medici, and Cavaliers and Roundheads.

Books in order of publication:

The Road to Tyburn (New World, 1957)

King Mob (Longmans, 1958)

Wolfe at Quebec (Longmans, 1959)

Corunna (B. T. Batsford,1961)

The Destruction of Lord Raglan (Longmans, 1961)

Benito Mussolini (Longmans, 1962)

The Roots of Evil: A Social History of Crime and Punishment (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1963)

Agincourt (Batsford, 1964

The Court at Windsor (Longmans, 1964)

Garibaldi and his enemies (Longmans, 1965)

The Making of Charles Dickens (Harper & Row, 1967)

Waterloo (New English Library, 1967)

London, the Biography of a City (Longmans, Green & Co., 1969)

Charles I (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1968)

The Search for King Arthur (American Heritage, 1969)

The Dragon Wakes (Harper & Row, 1970)

The Personal History of Samuel Johnson (Longmans, 1971)

Tower of London (Newsweek [Series: Wonders of Man], 1971)

George IV (Vol 1: Longman, 1972; Vol 2: Allen Lane)

The House of Medici: Its Rise and Fall (Morrow, 1975)

Versailles (Series: Wonders of Man, 1975)

Edward VII: A Portrait (Allen Lane, 1976)

The Great Mutiny: India, 1857 (Allen Lane, 1978), as Penguin Pocketbook: 1980,

The French Revolution (Penguin, 1980)

Africa Explored (Allen Lane, 1982)

Chateaux of the Loire (Series: Wonders of Man, 1983)

The London Encyclopaedia with Ben Weinreb (Macmillan, 1983)

Rome, the Biography of a City (Norton, 1985) ISBN 0393019845

The English: A Social History (Grafton, 1987) ISBN 0246121815

Venice: The Biography of a City 1988 listing

The Encyclopaedia of Oxford (Macmillan, 1988)

Redcoats and Rebels (Grafton, 1990)

The Virgin Queen: Elizabeth I, Genius of the Golden Age (Addison–Wesley, 1991)

Florence: Biography of a City (Norton, 1993)

Cavaliers & Roundheads: The English Civil War, 1642–1649 (HarperCollins, 1993)

The Story of England (Phaidon Press, 1994)

Nelson: A Personal History (Penguin, 1994)

No Ordinary Place: Radley College and the Public School System 1847–1997. London: John Murray General Publishing Division. 1997.

Wellington: A Personal History (Da Capo, 1997)

George III: A Personal History (Penguin, 1998)

Queen Victoria: A Personal History (HarperCollins, 2000)

The Marlboroughs: John and Sarah Churchill 1650-1744 (Viking, 2001)

Napoleon: His Wives and Women (HarperCollins, 2002)

Great Battles: Agincourt (Phoenix new edition 2003)

Disraeli: A Personal History (HarperCollins, 2004)

Disraeli: The Victorian Dandy Who Became Prime Minister (Palgrave Macmillan, New York City 2006)

The Borgias and Their Enemies: 1431–1519 (Mariner Books, 2009)

%d bloggers like this: