Christopher Paolini

About Christopher Paolini

Early Writing

Christopher’s love of literature developed from J.R.R. Tolkien, well acclaimed author of the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, and the author of the epic poem Beowulf E.R.Eddison. Paolini’s first book, Eragon, was specifically inspired by the work of Bruce Coville. The stories about elves raising dragons is inherent in Frank Herbert’s influences as well. For setting, Paolini only had to look at his natural surroundings, as he hand drew the maps that would grace his books and become the mythical land of Alagaesia.

When Christopher realized he really wanted to write like his favorite authors, he studied everything he could about the craft of good writing, particularly fantasy fiction for young adults. He planned out the whole series in a few months and started on his first draft of the first book, which would set the tone, scope and theme of the entire trilogy he had in mind. After a year, he was ready to show his parents; his first editors and critics.

Before finishing high school 2002, Paolini began his reworking on the first in a series of fantasy stories set in his imaginative kingdom. What eventually emerged was Eragon, a story deliberately set with the archetypal ingredients of a fantasy book. What began at age 14 grew into the first book in a series he finally named The Inheritance Tetrology. Through rewriting, often by hand, and meticulous historical research and referencing, Christopher stirred up all the elements of a great book – a quest, revenge, betrayal, romance, experiences of adventure, a unique ancient language, and a “special” sword. Throw in a perfect best friend companion, a female of another species, as loyal as any young reader would relish, and the ingredients are all there for literary success.

Books in order of publication:

The Inheritance Cycle Books


Tales from Alagaesia Books

The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm(2018)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars(2020)

Non-Fiction Books

Eragon’s Guide to Alagaësia(2009) 


Spectrum Fantastic Art Live!(2012
%d bloggers like this: