Cormac McCarthy

Cormac McCarthy is an American novelist and playwright. He has written ten novels in the Southern Gothic, western, and post-apocalyptic genres and has also written plays and screenplays. He received the Pulitzer Prize in 2007 for The Road, and his 2005 novel No Country for Old Men was adapted as a 2007 film of the same name, which won four Academy Awards, including Best Picture.

His earlier Blood Meridian (1985) was among Time Magazine’s poll of 100 best English-language books published between 1925 and 2005 and he placed joint runner-up for a similar title in a poll taken in 2006 by The New York Times of the best American fiction published in the last 25 years. Literary critic Harold Bloom named him as one of the four major American novelists of his time, along with Thomas Pynchon, Don DeLillo, and Philip Roth. He is frequently compared by modern reviewers to William Faulkner.

In 2009, Cormac McCarthy won the PEN/Saul Bellow Award, a lifetime achievement award given by the PEN American Center.

Author website:

Books in order of publication:

Wake for Susan1959
A Drowning Incident1960
The Orchard Keeper1965
Outer Dark1968
Child of God1973
Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West1985
All the Pretty Horses (The Border Trilogy # 1)1992
The Crossing (The Border Trilogy # 2)1994
The Stonemason: A Play in Five Acts1994
The Gardener’s Son: a screenplay1996
Cities of the Plain (The Border Trilogy # 3)1998
No Country for Old Men2005
The Road2006
The Sunset Limited2006
The Counselor: A Screenplay2013
%d bloggers like this: