Craig Nova

Craig Nova is an American novelist and author of fourteen novels.

His writing has appeared in Esquire, The Paris Review, The New York Times Magazine, and Men’s Journal, among others. His short story, “The Prince,” won an O.Henry Award. His first novel, “Turkey Hash”, won the prestigious Harper-Saxton Award. Nova received an Award in Literature from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters and received a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1997.

His fourteen novels thus far are somewhat thematically linked. The first two novels, written in the 1970s, were basically coming of age or bildungsroman novels. The next three, his third, fourth and fifth books (The Good Son, The Congressman’s Daughter and Tornado Alley) are often thought of as his Passion Trilogy, sharing similar structures (each novel is broken up into different “books”; each novel is narrated in the first person by a variety of characters, male and female).

In 2005 he was named Class of 1949 Distinguished Professor in the Humanities at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Nova was a judge on the fiction panel of the 2006 National Book Awards.

He lives in North Carolina.

Books in order of publication:

Turkey Hash (1972)

The Geek (1975)

Incandescence (1979)

The Good Son (1982)

The Congressman’s Daughter (1986)

Tornado Alley (1989)

Trombone (1992)

The Book of Dreams (1994)

The Universal Donor (1997)

Wetware (2002)

Cruisers (2004)

The Informer (2010)

The Constant Heart (2012)

All The Dead Yale Men (2013)

Double Solitaire: A Novel (2021)


Brook Trout and the Writing Life (1999)

%d bloggers like this: