Cynthia Ozick

Recipient of the first Rea Award for the Short Story (in 1976; other winners Rea honorees include Lorrie Moore, John Updike, Alice Munro), an American Academy of Arts and Letters Mildred and Harold Strauss Living Award, and the PEN/Malamud award in 2008.

Upon publication of her 1983 The Shawl, Edmund White wrote in the New York Times, “Miss Ozick strikes me as the best American writer to have emerged in recent years…Judaism has given to her what Catholicism gave to Flannery O’Connor.”

Books in order of publication:


Trust (1966)

The Cannibal Galaxy (1983)

The Messiah of Stockholm (1987)

The Puttermesser Papers (1997)

Heir to the Glimmering World (2004) (published in the United Kingdom in 2005 as The Bear Boy)

Foreign Bodies (2010)

Antiquities (2021)

Shorter fiction

The Pagan Rabbi and Other Stories (1971)

Bloodshed and Three Novellas (1976)

Levitation: Five Fictions (1982)

Envy; or, Yiddish in America (1969)

The Shawl (1989)

Collected Stories (2007)

Dictation: A Quartet (2008)

Essay collections

All the World Wants the Jews Dead (1974)

Art and Ardor (1983)

Metaphor & Memory (1989)

What Henry James Knew and Other Essays on Writers (1993)

Fame & Folly: Essays (1996)

“SHE: Portrait of the Essay as a warm body” (1998)

Quarrel & Quandary (2000)

The Din in the Head: Essays (2006)

Critics, Monsters, Fanatics, and Other Literary Essays (2016)


Blue Light (1994)


A Cynthia Ozick Reader (1996)

The Complete Works of Isaac Babel (introduction 2001)

Fistfuls of Masterpieces

%d bloggers like this: