Dame Joan Henrietta Collins

Dame Joan Henrietta Collins, DBE (born May 23, 1933) is an English actress, author, and columnist. She made her stage debut at the age of nine, trained at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art (RADA) in London, entered British films in 1951 and went to Hollywood under contract to 20th Century Fox in 1955. In 1981, she landed the role of Alexis Carrington, the vengeful and scheming ex-wife of John Forsythe‘s character, in the 1980s prime time soap opera Dynasty, which made her an international superstar and brought her a Golden Globe Award for Best Actress in 1982. In 2015, Collins was made a Dame by Queen Elizabeth II for services to charity.

Books in order of publication:



  • Past Imperfect: An Autobiography – UK version (1978)
  • Katy: A Fight for Life, A Memoir (1982)
  • Past Imperfect: An Autobiography – US version (1984)
  • Second Act: An Autobiography (1996)
  • The World According to Joan (2011)
  • Passion For Life: An Autobiography (2013)


  • The Joan Collins Beauty Book (1980)
  • My Secrets (1994)
  • Health, Youth and Happiness: My Secrets (1995)
  • My Friends’ Secrets (1999)
  • Joan’s Way: Looking Good, Feeling Great (2002)
  • The Art of Living Well: Looking Good, Feeling Great (2007)


  • Prime Time, a novel (1988)
  • Love and Desire and Hate, a novel (1990)
  • Too Damn Famous, a novel (1995) retitled Infamous for US (1996)
  • Star Quality, a novel (2002)
  • Misfortune’s Daughters, a novel (2005)
  • The St. Tropez Lonely Hearts Club, a novel (2015)
%d bloggers like this: