David A. Robertson

David A. Robertson (he, him, his) was the 2021 recipient of the Writers’ Union of Canada Freedom to Read Award. He is the author of numerous books for young readers including When We Were Alone, which won the 2017 Governor General’s Literary Award and the McNally Robinson Best Book for Young People Award.

The Barren Grounds, the first book in the middle-grade The Misewa Saga series, received a starred review from Kirkus, was a Kirkus and Quill & Quire best middle-grade book of 2020, was a USBBY and Texas Lone Star selection, was shortlisted for the Ontario Library Association’s Silver Birch Award, and was a finalist for the 2020 Governor General’s Literary Award.

His memoir, Black Water: Family, Legacy, and Blood Memory, was a Globe and Mail and Quill & Quire book of the year in 2020 and won the Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-Fiction as well as the Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award at the 2020 Manitoba Book Awards.

On The Trapline, illustrated by Julie Flett, won David’s second Governor General’s Literary Award, and was named one of the best picture books of 2021 by the CCBC, The Horn Book, New York Public Library, Quill & Quire, and American Indians in Children’s Literature. Dave is the writer and host of the podcast Kíwew, winner of the 2021 RTDNA Prairie Region Award for Best Podcast. He is a member of Norway House Cree Nation and currently lives in Winnipeg.

Author website:  http://www.darobertson.ca

Books in order of publication:

Children and Young Adult Books

On the Trapline (May 4, 2021)

When We Were Alone (2016)

Strangers (The Reckoner Trilogy, Book 1) (2017)

Monsters (The Reckoner Trilogy, Book 2) (2018)

Ghosts (The Reckoner Trilogy, Book 3) (2019)

Ispík kákí péyakoyak | When We Were Alone (2020)

The Barren Grounds (The Misewa Saga, Book One) (2020)

The Great Bear (The Misewa Saga, Book Two) (2021)

On the Trapline (2021)

Novels and Other Literature

The Evolution of Alice (2014)

Black Water: Family, Legacy, and Blood Memory (2020)

Graphic Novels

Stone (7 Generations series, Book 1) (2010)

Scars (7 Generations series, Book 2) (2010)

Ends/Begins (7 Generations series, Book 3) (2010)

The Pact (7 Generations series, Book 4) (2011)

7 Generations: A Plains Cree Saga (Collected 7 Generations series) (2012)

Sugar Falls (2012)

The Poet: Pauline Johnson (2014)

The Rebel: Gabriel Dumont (2014)

The Scout: Tommy Prince (2014)

The Land of Os: John Ramsay (2014)

The Peacemaker: Thanadelthur (2014)

The Ballad of Nancy April: Shawnadithit (2014)

Betty: The Helen Betty Osborne Story (2015)

The Chief: Mistahimaskwa (2016)

Will I See? (2016)

Breakdown (The Reckoner Rises, Volume 1) (2020)

Version Control (The Reckoner Rises, Volume 2) (2022)

%d bloggers like this: