David K. Holbrook

David Kenneth Holbrook (9 January 1923 – 11 August 2011) was a British writer, poet and academic. From 1989 he was an Emeritus Fellow of Downing College, Cambridge.

Books in order of publication:


Flesh Wounds (1966)

A Play of Passion (1978)

Nothing Larger Than Life (1987)

Worlds Apart (1988)

A Little Athens (1990)

Jennifer (1992)

The Gold in Father’s Heart (1992)

Even If They Fail (1994)

Getting It Wrong With Uncle Tom (1998)

Going Off The Rails (2003)


Imaginings. London: Putnam, 1960 (Reprinted 1961).

Against The Cruel Frost. London: Putnam, 1963.

Object Relations. London: Methuen & Co. Ltd., 1967.

Old World New World. London: Rapp & Whiting, 1969. 

Chance of a Lifetime. London: Anvil Press, 1978.

Moments in Italy: Poems and Sketches. Richmond, England: The Keepsake Press (An edition of 280 signed and numbered copies).

Selected Poems: 1961–1978 London: Anvil Press, 1980.


The Quest for Love, 1965

Human Hope and the Death Instinct, 1971

Sex and Dehumanization, 1972

The Masks of Hate, 1972

Dylan Thomas; the Code of Night, 1972

Gustav Mahler and the Courage to Be, 1975

Sylvia Plath: Poetry and Existence, 1977

Lost Bearings in English Poetry, 1977

Evolution and the Humanities, 1987

The Novel and Authenticity, 1987

Further Studies in Philosophical Anthropology, 1988

Images of Woman in Literature, 1990

The Skeleton in the Wardrobe: the Phantasies of C.S.Lewis, 1991

Edith Wharton and the Unsatisfactory Man, 1991

Where Lawrence Was Wrong About Woman, 1992

Charles Dickens and the Image of Woman, 1993

Creativity and Popular Culture, 1994

Tolstoy, Woman and Death, 1997

Wuthering Heights: A Drama of Being, 1997

George MacDonald and the Phantom Woman, 2000

Lewis Carroll: Nonsense Against Sorrow, 2000

%d bloggers like this: