David Lubar

David Lubar is an electronic game programmer that writes books for children and teens. Lubar counts his time designing games for Nintendo as the highlight of his life.


David Lubar was born in 1954 in Morristown, NJ. Lubar has great memories of his hometown because the streets were safe, and everything was within walking distance. As an avid reader, Lubar was fortunate to have a school librarian for a mother.

He got to spend many an hour of the day in the library. Lubar was a talkative child and it often got him into trouble. But you will not find him complaining because all those times he was kicked out of class for talking too much gave him the opportunity get immersed in his school’s collection of books.

And it when the author was done with the school library, he moved on to the town, and then the county library. There was no shortage of access to books for David Lubar as a child.

Lubar attended Rutgers College. He left with a degree in Philosophy. Unlike most authors who meander through various careers before finally returning to their first love, David Lubar went into writing immediately.

Books in order of publication:

Accidental Monsters / Monsterrific Tale Books

The Vanishing Vampire(1997) 
The Unwilling Witch(1997) 
The Wavering Werewolf(1997) 
The Gloomy Ghost(1998) 
The Bully Bug(2014) 

Hidden Talents Books

Hidden Talents(1999)
True Talents(2007)

Weenies Books

In the Land of the Lawn Weenies(2003) 
Invasion of the Road Weenies(2005) 
The Curse of the Campfire Weenies(2007) 
Attack of the Vampire Weenies(2011) 
Beware the Ninja Weenies(2012) 
Wipeout of the Wireless Weenies(2014) 
Strikeout of the Bleacher Weenies(2017) 
Check Out the Library Weenies(2018) 

Nathan Abercrombie, Accidental Zombie Books

My Rotten Life(2009) 
Dead Guy Spy(2010) 
Goop Soup(2010) 
The Big Stink(2010) 
Enter the Zombie(2011) 

Looniverse Books

Stranger Things(2013) 
Meltdown Madness(2013) 
Dinosaur Disaster(2013) 
Stage Fright(2014) 

Hyde and Shriek Books

Hyde and Shriek(2013) 

Monster Itch Books

Ghost Attack(2017) 
Vampire Trouble(2017) 

Teeny Weenies Books

Freestyle Frenzy: And Other Stories(2019) 
The Intergalactic Petting Zoo: And Other Stories(2019) 
The Boy Who Cried Wool: And Other Stories(2019) 
My Favorite President: And Other Stories(2019) 
Fishing for Pets: And Other Stories(2020)
The Eighth Octopus: And Other Stories(2020)

Emperor of the Universe Books

Emperor of the Universe(2019) 
The Clone Catastrophe(2021) 

Standalone Novels

Monster Road(1999) 
Wizards of the Game(2003) 
Dog Days(2004) 
Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie(2005) 
Sophomores and Other Oxymorons(2015) 
Character, Driven(2016) 

Short Story Collections

Kidzilla & Other Tales(1997) 
The Psychozone(1997) 
It Seemed Funny at the Time(2011) 
Pulling up Stakes and Other Piercing Stories(2011) 
Zero Tolerance Meets the Alien Death Ray and OtherInappropriate Stories(2012) 

Non-Fiction Books

It’s Not a Bug, It’s a Feature!(1995)


Every Man for Himself(2005)
%d bloggers like this: