David Park

David Park was born in Belfast in 1953, and now lives in County Down, Northern Ireland.

He was educated at Queen’s University Belfast and has had a distinguished career in secondary education, in particular contributing to the development of creativity in the curriculum.

He is the author of a collection of short stories and several novels. His first novel, The Healing (1992), won the 1992 Authors’ Club First Novel Award and the University of Ulster McCrea Literary Award. Set against a background of sectarian conflict, the novel describes the search for personal and communal healing. Further novels include The Rye Man (1994) and Stone Kingdoms (1996), which is set in both Ireland and Africa and won the University of Ulster McCrea Literary Award.

Books in order of publication:

Oranges from Spain (1990)

The Healing (1992)

The Rye Man (1994)

Stone Kingdoms (1996)

Big Snow (2002)

The Truth Commissioner (2008)

The Light of Amsterdam (2012)

The Poets’ Wives (2014)

Gods & Angels (2016)

Travelling in a Strange Land (2018)

Spies in Canaan (2022)

%d bloggers like this: