David S. Brown

David Scott Brown (born 29 September 1966) is a Horace E. Raffensperger professor of history at Elizabethtown College, Pennsylvania, United States. He is the author of several books, including biographies of Richard Hofstadter and F. Scott Fitzgerald

He graduated from Wright State University in 1990 and earned a master’s degree from the University of Akron in 1992. He completed his Ph.D. in 1995 at the University of Toledo.

Brown joined Elizabethtown College in 1997, after previously teaching at the University of Toledo, Washtenaw Community College, and Saginaw Valley State University. He was named Raffensperger Professor in 2012.

Books in order of publication:

Thomas Jefferson: A Biographical Companion – 1998

Richard Hofstadter: An Intellectual Biography – 2006

Beyond the Frontier: The Midwestern Voice in American Historical Writing – 2009

Paradise Lost: A Life of F. Scott Fitzgerald – 2017

The Last American Aristocrat: The Brilliant Life and Improbable Education of Henry Adams – 2020

The First Populist: A Life of Andrew Jackson – 2022

%d bloggers like this: