Dean Wesley Smith

Dean Wesley Smith (born November 10, 1950) is an American writer of science fiction, mystery, and fantasy. Smith has published nearly 200 novels and hundreds of short stories.

Smith has also written novels for licensed properties such as Star Trek, Spider-Man, X-Men, Men in Black, and many other gaming, television, and movie properties.

Smith’s novel Laying the Music to Rest, was nominated for the 1990 Bram Stoker Award for Best First Novel. Smith’s short story, In the Shade of the Slowboat Man, was nominated for the 1997 Nebula Award for Best Short Story.

He is married to fellow writer/editor Kristine Kathryn Rusch; they have collaborated on several works. Smith and Rusch operated Pulphouse Publishing for many years and edited the original (hardback) incarnation of Pulphouse Magazine; they won a World Fantasy Award in 1989.

Books in order of publication by series:

Cold Poker Gang

  • Kill Game, WMG Publishing, May, 2014
  • Cold Call, WMG Publishing, February, 2015
  • Calling Dead, WMG Publishing, May, 2015
  • Bad Beat, WMG Publishing, January, 2016
  • Dead Hand, WMG Publishing, June, 2016
  • Freezeout, WMG Publishing, October, 2016
  • Ace High, WMG Publishing, February, 2017
  • Burn Card, WMG Publishing, December, 2017
  • Heads Up, WMG Publishing, November, 2019

Thunder Mountain

  • Thunder Mountain, WMG Publishing, January, 2014
  • Monumental Summit, WMG Publishing, March, 2014
  • Avalanche Creek, WMG Publishing, November, 2014
  • The Edwards Mansion, WMG Publishing, January, 2015
  • Lake Roosevelt, WMG Publishing, March, 2015
  • Warm Springs, WMG Publishing, April, 2015
  • Melody Ridge, WMG Publishing, December, 2015
  • Grapevine Springs, WMG Publishing, April, 2016
  • The Idanha Hotel, WMG Publishing, July, 2016
  • The Taft Ranch, WMG Publishing, September, 2016
  • Tombstone Canyon, WMG Publishing, December, 2017
  • Dry Creek Crossing, WMG Publishing, December, 2017

The Tenth Planet series, on which he collaborated with his wife, author Kristine Kathryn Rusch.

Smith’s film novelizations include Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within, The Rundown, Steel, The Core, and X-Men.

Other properties include Aliens, Roswell, Smallville, and Quantum Leap.

His Star Trek novels include original books in series adapted from all five of the live action television series: the original series, The Next Generation, Deep Space Nine, Voyager and Enterprise. He has also written books in the Star Trek: Starfleet Corps of Engineers series, and has edited the contest anthology series, Star Trek: Strange New Worlds.

Smith’s stories can also be found in almost 20 different anthologies, such as Journeys to the Twilight Zone (1992), The Book of Kings (1995), and Past Lives, Present Tense. He also wrote 4 books with his wife under the name Sandy Schofield.

In 1992, Smith was the founding publisher of Tomorrow Speculative Fiction before selling the magazine to editor Algis Budrys‘s UniFont.

%d bloggers like this: