Denys James Watkins-Pitchford

Denys James Watkins-Pitchford MBE (25 July 1905 – 8 September 1990) was a British naturalist, an illustrator, art teacher and a children’s author under the pseudonym “BB”. He won the 1942 Carnegie Medal for British children’s books.

Books in order of publication:

(1922) Diary & Sketchbook (Published in 2012)

(1937) The Sportsman’s Bedside Book

(1938) Wild Lone: The Story of a Pytchley Fox

(1939) Manka, the Sky Gypsy: The Story of a Wild Goose

(1941) The Countryman’s Bedside Book

(1942) The Little Grey Men

(1943) The Idle Countryman

(1944) Narrow Boat

(1944) Brendon Chase

(1945) The Fisherman’s Bedside Book

(1945) The Wayfaring Tree

(1948) Meeting Hill

(1948) The Shooting Man’s Bedside Book

(1948) A Stream in Your Garden

(1948) Down the Bright Stream (sequel to The Little Grey Men (1942), later released as The Little Grey Men Go Down the Bright Stream)

(1949) Be Quiet and Go A-Angling (Pseudonym Michael Traherne)

(1950) Confessions of a Carp Fisher

(1950) Letters from Compton Deverell

(1950) Tide’s Ending

(1952) The Wind in the Wood

(1953) Dark Estuary

(1955) The Forest of Boland Light Railway

(1957) Alexander

(1957) Ben the Bullfinch

(1957) Wandering Wind

(1957) Monty Woodpig’s Caravan

(1958) Monty Woodpig & his Bubblebuzz Car

(1958) Mr Bumstead

(1958) A Carp Water (Wood Pool): And How to Fish It

(1959) The Wizard of Boland

(1959) Bill Badger’s Winter Cruise

(1959) Autumn Road to the Isles

(1960) Bill Badger and the Pirates

(1961) Bill Badger and the Secret Weapon

(1961) The White Road Westwards

(1961) The Badgers of Bearshanks

(1961) Bill Badger’s Finest Hour

(1962) Bill Badger’s Whispering Reeds Adventure

(1962) September Road to Caithness

(1962) Lepus the Brown Hare

(1963) Bill Badger’s Big Mistake

(1964) The Pegasus Book of the Countryside

(1964) Summer Road to Wales

(1967) Bill Badger and the Big Store Robbery

(1967) A Summer on the Nene

(1967) The Whopper

(1968) At the Back o’ Ben Dee

(1969) Bill Badger’s Voyage to the Worlds End

(1971) The Tiger Tray

(1975) The Pool of the Black Witch

(1975) Lord of the Forest

(1976) Recollections of a Longshore Gunner

(1978) A Child Alone

(1979) Ramblings of a Sportsman-Naturalist

(1980) The Naturalist’s Bedside Book

(1981) The Quiet Fields

(1984) Indian Summer

(1985) The Best of BB

(1987) Fisherman’s Folly

(1990) The Confessions of a Coastal Gunner (published in 2011)

%d bloggers like this: