Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson (born Diane Lain, April 28, 1934) is an American novelist and essayist whose satirical novels often feature American heroines living abroad in contemporary France. She was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for her novel Persian Nights in 1988.

Books in order of publication:


Fair Game (1965)

Loving Hands at Home (1968)

Burning (Dutton, 1971)

The Shadow Knows (Dutton, 1974)

Lying low (Knopf, 1978)

Persian Nights (Knopf, 1987)

Health and Happiness (Knopf, 1990)

Le Divorce (Dutton, 1997)

Le Mariage (Dutton, 2000)

L’Affaire (Dutton, 2003)

Lulu in Marrakech (Dutton, 2008)

Lorna Mott Comes Home (2021)


The True History of Mrs. Meredith and Other Lesser Lives (Knopf, 1972)

Dashiell Hammett: A Life (1983)

Natural Opium: Some Travelers’ Tales (Knopf, 1993)

Terrorists and Novelists: Essays (Knopf, 1982).

Into a Paris Quartier: Reine Margot’s Chapel and Other Haunts of St.-Germain (National Geographic Directions, 2005)

Flyover Lives: A Memoir (Viking, 2014)

%d bloggers like this: