Donald E. McQuinn

Donald E. McQuinn (born 1930 in Winthrop, Massachusetts) is an American best-selling author,[1] and former U.S. Marine.

McQuinn graduated from high school in Texas, and attended the University of Washington on a Navy scholarship. He served 20 years in the Marines, retiring in 1971 as a major, before becoming an author.

In September 1998 he suffered a sudden cardiac arrest while on vacation in Hawaii and became the first person saved by the police department’s recent deployment of automated external defibrillators.[1]

A third book in the Captain Lannat series was announced by the publisher as “a work in progress”,[2] but remains unfinished or unpublished.

Books in order of publication:

  • Targets (set during the Vietnam War), 1980
  • Wake in Darkness (set in the Philippines)
  • 1981Shadow of Lies (contemporary spy novel), July 1985
  • Moondark Saga post-apocalyptic trilogy (published in nine parts in Germany)
    • Warrior (November 1990)
    • Wanderer (November 1993)
    • Witch (November 1994)
  • Captain Lannat science fiction series
    • With Full Honors (November 1996)
    • The Prisoner Within (December 1997)
%d bloggers like this: