Edith Wharton

Edith Wharton was an American author born on January 24, 1862, in New York City. Many of her works have been made into movies, television movies, and television series.

Her family was fairly wealthy and out of three children, she was the youngest. She spent much of her younger years going around Europe with them. When they came back to America, Edith would be brought up with the very best.

Edith soon proved that she had a talent for writing. She was just eighteen years old when she wrote her first novella, and she also had some of her poetry published in the Atlantic Monthly. She spent some time being engaged, but then married Edward Wharton.

Edward was a rich sportsman that had been brought up in much the same level of wealth and family privilege that Edith had. Even though they did come from similar backgrounds and both loved to travel, their union did not end up being successful. A lot of her novels had the theme of an unhappy marriage where working and demands of love come into conflict with what society expects.

The Touchstone would get her into print in 1900. However, Wharton’s first major book would be the 1905 publication of The House of Mirth. The book was a hit, enjoying quite a bit of success in the literary field. Then she followed it up with her book Ethan Frome in 1911. This would prove that the popularity of her books was not just a coincidence from then on.

She did not only become an artist successfully on her own merit, but Edith also mingled with other artists and writers of that time. She was close friends with Henry James and would often hang out with acclaimed famous creative people at the time. These included Jack London, Sinclair Lewis, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Andre Gide, and Jean Cocteau.

She would go on to get a divorce from her husband Edward in 1913. Residing in France for a large part of her life, it would be the country that she lived in for most of the end of her life and one where she helped organize refugee hostels in the first world war. It was also the place where she raised funds and put together journalism pieces that she wrote from the very front lines of the battlefield. As a result of her work, she was given the French Legion of Honor.

She had a hit with her book The Age of Innocence. It was a novel set in the 1870s in New York. It would earn her the Pulitzer Prize in 1921 for fiction. This would also be a moment to mark in the literary world as it would be the first ever time in history that a woman had been the recipient of the award.

She has continued to put down stories since those early days. Edith also made her way through Europe to inspire younger writers. She has written while lying in bed in the morning and would drop the pages that she wrote onto the floor so that they could be collected up and then arranged once she was done. Edith had a stroke and passed away on August 11, 1937. She was laid to rest in Versailles, France.

Edith Wharton is the creator and writer of the Old New York series. This fictional series kicked off for the first time in 1924 with the release of the debut novel. It is titled False Dawn. The second book in the series is titled The Old Maid. The third book is The Spark and the fourth and final book in the series is titled New Year’s Day.

False Dawn is the engaging first book in the Old New York series. If you are looking for an interesting book that was popular at the time and is set in nineteenth century New York, then look no further!

It is the 1840’s. Main character Lewis Raycie has a father that is not only controlling, but also has an avid interest in art. His father has plenty of money and could be what you call rich. He also is domineering and wants his son to do whatever he says. This time around, he wants his son to go off to Europe so that he can go on an errand for him.

His father wants Lewis to buy art on his behalf. Lewis is going to go on Europe’s Grand Tour and buy up paintings that are being done by current fashionable artists. Lewis is intimidated and goes on the trip as his father wants. Lewis goes off and ends up picking out some Italian primitive art pieces for his selection.

The pieces are not what his father sent him out for and have not been recognized yet as the masterpieces that they are. His father is appalled with how this has turned out, and decides that he wants nothing more to do with his son.

Lewis is quickly disinherited by his father. Then he finds out that maybe there was something to the art that his son picked out after all. The intuition of his son could have been right all along, but will he be able to see that in time to make the amends necessary?

The wisdom of his selections could end up making them rich. Find out if this father and son strike rich together or will forever stay apart by picking up False Dawn, the first book in the Old New York series!

The Old Maid is the sequel to False Dawn in this fiction series written by Edith Wharton. The story was originally put into serial publication in 1922 by Red Book Magazine. This is a society and class examination and send up like only this author could originate.

Tina is a young lady that is trapped in a difficult situation. She was adopted and now she is torn between Delia, her adopted mother, and her real mother. Her adopted mother is beautiful and nice, and her plain aunt Charlotte turns out to be her true biological mom.

It’s all been fine to a point, but will Tina’s wedding bring up submerged jealousy? Pick up this book to find out!

Books in order of publication by series”

Old New York Books

False Dawn(1924) 
The Old Maid(1924) 
The Spark(1924) 
New Year’s Day(1924) 

Standalone Novels

The Touchstone(1900) 
Crucia Instances(1901) 
The Valley of Decision(1902) 
The House of Mirth(1905) 
The Fruit of the Tree(1907) 
Madame de Treymes(1907) 
Ethan Frome(1911) 
The Reef(1912) 
The Custom of the Country(1913) 
The Marne(1918) 
The Age of Innocence(1920) 
The Glimpses of the Moon(1922) 
A Son at the Front(1923) 
The Mother’s Recompense(1925) 
Twilight Sleep(1928) 
The Children(1928) 
Hudson River Bracketed(1929) 
Certain People(1930) 
The Gods Arrive(1932) 
Human Nature(1933) 
The Buccaneers(1938) 
%d bloggers like this: