Edna O’Brien

Edna O’Brien is an Irish novelist, screenwriter, and short story author from Ireland. She was born in County Clare Ireland in 1930 and spent most of her childhood in the small town of Twamgraney. She describes her hometown as a small bigoted, fervid and enclosed small village that she hated. While she loved reading and was writing by the time she was eight years old, she never got an opportunity to write until the family moved to London.

Books in order of publication:

Country Girls Books

The Country Girls(1960) 
The Lonely Girl(1962) 
Girls in Their Married Bliss(1963) 

Standalone Novels

August Is a Wicked Month(1965) 
Casualties of Peace(1966) 
A Pagan Place(1970) 
Zee and Co(1971) 
Johnny I Hardly Knew You(1977) 
The Dazzle(1981) 
The Rescue(1983) 
The High Road(1988) 
On the Bone(1989) 
Time and Tide(1992) 
House of Splendid Isolation(1994) 
Down by the River(1996) 
Wild Decembers(1999) 
In the Forest(2002) 
The Light of Evening(2006) 
The Little Red Chairs(2015) 


The Love Object(1968) 
A Scandalous Woman(1972) 
A Rose in the Heart(1978) 
Collector’s Choice(1978) 
A Fanatic Heart(1984) 
Lantern Slides(1990) 
An Edna O’Brien Reader(1994) 
Mrs. Reinhardt(1996) 
Irish Revel(1998) 
Triptych and Iphigenia(2005) 
Saints and Sinners(2011) 



Picture Books

A Christmas Treat(1982)

Short Stories/Novellas

Shovel Kings(2009) 


Some Irish Loving(1979) 
Tales for the Telling(1986) 

Non-Fiction Books

Mother Ireland(1976) 
James and Nora(1981) 
Vanishing Ireland(1990) 
James Joyce(1999) 
Byron In Love(2009) 
Country Girl(2012)
%d bloggers like this: