Elizabeth George

Susan Elizabeth George is an American author who writes mystery novels set in the backdrop of Great Britain. A former English teacher, the author’s work is known for its exquisite details and characterization.

She has had many novels reach the top of the bestsellers list and has written characters that can stick with readers. Eleven of her novels were adapted for the BBC television series, The Inspector Lynley Mysteries. The series extended for six years delighting her novel fans and creating a new generation of television fans.

Books in order of publication:

Inspector Lynley Books

A Great Deliverance(1988) 
Payment in Blood(1989) 
Well-Schooled in Murder(1989) 
A Suitable Vengeance(1991) 
For the Sake of Elena(1992) 
Missing Joseph(1992) 
Playing for the Ashes(1994) 
In the Presence of the Enemy(1996) 
Deception on His Mind(1997) 
In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner(1999) 
A Traitor to Memory(2001) 
A Place of Hiding(2003) 
With No One as Witness(2005) 
What Came Before He Shot Her(2006) 
Careless in Red(2008) 
This Body of Death(2010) 
Believing the Lie(2012) 
Just One Evil Act(2013) 
A Banquet of Consequences(2015) 
The Punishment She Deserves(2018) 
A Suitable Vengeance is a prequel novel in the Inspector Lynley series and should be read before A Great Deliverance when reading the novels in chronological order.

Saratoga Woods Books

The Edge of Nowhere(2011) 
The Edge of the Water(2014) 
The Edge of the Shadows(2014) 
The Edge of the Light(2016) 

Short Story Collections

The Evidence Exposed(1999) 
I, Richard(2001) 


Crime from the Mind of a Woman(2001) 
A Moment on the Edge: 100 Years of Crime Stories by Women(2001) 
Two of the Deadliest(2009) 
Two of the Deadliest: New Tales of Lust, Greed, and Murder from Outstanding Women of Mystery(2009) 

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Write Away: One Novelist’s Approach to Fiction and the Writing Life(2004) 
Mastering the Process(2020) 

Publication Order of Anthologies

Hotel Angeline(2011)
%d bloggers like this: