Elizabeth Longford

Elizabeth Pakenham, Countess of Longford, CBE (née Harman; 30 August 1906 – 23 October 2002), better known as Elizabeth Longford, was a British historian. She was a member of the Royal Society of Literature and was on the board of trustees of the National Portrait Gallery in London.

She is best known as a historian, especially for her biographies of 19th-century aristocrats such as Queen Victoria (1964), Lord Byron (1976) and the Duke of Wellington (1969).

Books in order of publication:


Victoria R.I. (1964) Awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize

Wellington: The Years of the Sword (1969) and Wellington: Pillar Of State (1972), a two-volume biography of the first Duke of Wellington, who numbered among her husband’s relatives.

The Royal House of Windsor (1974)

Winston Churchill (1974)

Byron’s Greece. New York: Harper and Row. 1975.

Byron (1976)

A Pilgrimage of Passion: The Life of Wilfrid Scawen Blunt (1979) (I.B. Tauris, re-issued 2007)

Eminent Victorian Women. London: Weidenfeld & Nicolson. 1981.

Jameson’s Raid (1982)

Elizabeth R: A Biography (1983)

The Pebbled Shore: The Memoirs of Elizabeth Longford. London: Weidenfeld & Nicolson. 1986.

Royal Throne: The Future of the Monarchy. London: Hodder & Stoughton. 1993.

Queen Victoria. Stroud, Gloucestershire: Sutton Publishing. 1999.

%d bloggers like this: