Elliot Harold Paul

Elliot Harold Paul (February 10, 1891 – April 7, 1958), was an American journalist and author.

Born in Linden, a part of Malden, Massachusetts, Elliot Paul graduated from Malden High School then worked in the U.S. West on the government Reclamation projects for several years until 1914 when he returned home and took a job as a reporter covering legislative events at the State House in Boston.

In 1917, he joined the U.S. Army Signals Corps to fight in World War I. Paul served in France where he fought in the Battle of Saint-Mihiel and in the Meuse-Argonne offensive. Following the war’s end, he returned home and to a job as a journalist. At this time, he began writing books, inspired in part by his military experiences.

Books in order of publication:


Indelible (1922)

Impromptu (1923)

Imperturbe (1924)

Low Run Tide and Lava Rock (1929)

The Amazon (1930)

The Governor of Massachusetts (1930)

Life and Death of a Spanish Town (1937)

Concert Pitch (1938)

The Stars and Stripes Forever (1939)

The Mysterious Mickey Finn (1939)

Hugger Mugger in the Louvre (1940)

Mayhem in B-Flat (1940)

Fracas in the Foothills (1940)

The Death of Lord Haw Haw (as Brett Rutledge, 1940)

Intoxication Made Easy (1941)

The Last Time I Saw Paris (1942)1

A Narrow Street (British title of The Last Time I Saw Paris) (1942)

Paris: Twenty-Eight Drawings by Jean Vigoureux (introduction; 1942)

I’ll Hate Myself in the Morning (1945)

Summer in December (1945)

Linden on the Saugus Branch (1946)

A Ghost Town on the Yellowstone (1948)

My Old Kentucky Home (1949)

Desperate Scenery (1954)

Springtime in Paris (1950)

Murder on the Left Bank (1951)

The Black Gardenia (1952)

Waylaid in Boston (1953)

Desperate Scenery (1954)

Understanding the French(1954/55)

The Black and the Red (1956)

Film Flam (1956)

That Crazy American Music (1957)

%d bloggers like this: