Ernest Hemingway

Ernest Hemingway was a man with his own sense of style and even in the beginning showed a fierce determination. This reflected in his books and journalistic expressions. Ernest Hemingway was born (July 21, 1899-July2, 1961) to Dr. Clarence Hemingway and his mother Grace Hemingway, the second oldest of six children in Oak Park, Illinois. Hemingway’s macho lifestyle was no act; he developed a love for the outdoors from his physician father, who was described as a quiet man but very much into fishing and hunting.

Books in order of publication:

Standalone Novels

The Sun Also Rises(1926) 
A Clean Well Lighted Place(1926) 
The Torrents of Spring(1926) 
An Alpine Idyll(1927) 
A Farewell To Arms(1929) 
To Have and Have Not(1937) 
For Whom the Bell Tolls(1940) 
Across the River and into the Trees(1950) 
The Old Man and the Sea(1952) 
A Moveable Feast(1964) 
The Undefeated(1965) 
Islands in the Stream(1970) 
The Garden of Eden(1985) 
The Dangerous Summer(1985) 
True At First Light(1999) 
Camping Out(2014) 

Short Story Collections

3 Short Stories and 10 Poems(1923) 
The Complete Short Stories(1925) 
In Our Time(1925) 
Men Without Women(1927) 
Winner Take Nothing(1933) 
The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories(1936) 
The Fifth Column and Four Stories of the Spanish Civil War(1938) 
The First Forty-Nine Stories(1938) 
The Nick Adams Stories(1966) 
The Killers and Other Short Stories.(1982) 

Non-Fiction Books

Death in the Afternoon(1932) 
Green Hills of Africa(1935) 
The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber & Other Stories(1936) 
Articles for The Kansas City Star(1970) 
Bullfighting, Sport & Industry(1974) 
Selected Letters 1917-1961(1981) 
Ernest Hemingway on Writing(1984) 
Dateline Toronto(1985) 
On Writing(1986) 
Conversations with Ernest Hemingway(1986) 
Hemingway at Oak Park High(1993) 
Hemingway on Fishing(2000) 
Hemingway on War(2003) 
Under Kilimanjaro(2005) 
On Paris(2008)
%d bloggers like this: