Fidelis Morgan

Fidelis Morgan (born 8 August 1952) is an English actress and writer. She has acted with the Royal Shakespeare Company, the National Theatre, in repertory in various British cities and in the West End transfer of Noël Coward’s The Vortex.

She has written stage plays based on the novels Pamela and Hangover Square. Her non-fiction writing includes The Female Wits, the first study of female playwrights of the Restoration stage and biographies of women from the 17th and 18th centuries including Charlotte Charke. Her novels include the Countess Ashby dela Zouche series of historical crime mysteries including The Rival Queens.

Books in order of publication:


The Female Wits, Virago (1981)

A Woman of No Character, Faber (1986)

Bluff Your Way in Theatre, Ravette (1986)

The Well Known Trouble-maker, Faber (1988)

A Misogynist’s Source Book, Jonathan Cape (1989)

Women Playwrights Of The Restoration, Dent Everyman (1991)

The Female Tatler, Dent Everyman (1992)

The Years Between, Virago (1994)

Wicked! Virago (1996)

Like a Charm (Century) collaboration with other crime writers and edited by Karen Slaughter (2004)


My Dark Rosaleen Heinemann (1994)

Unnatural Fire HarperCollins (2000)

The Rival Queens HarperCollins (2001)

The Ambitious Stepmother HarperCollins (2002)

Fortune’s Slave HarperCollins (2004)

Short stories

“The Actress & The Thief”, BBC Radio 4, 1995

“The Creep”, Image Magazine (Eire), October 1995

“Dead At The Wheel”, Magazine of Architectural Symposium Pontresina, 2001

“Down and Dirty”, Like A Charm by Karin Slaughter (ed.) (Century, February 2004)

Contributions to Encyclopedia of British Women’s Writing 1900-1950 (Palgrave Macmillan, 2006


Pamela with Giles Havergal 1985

Hangover Square 1990 Fragments from the Life of Marie Antoinette 1996

%d bloggers like this: