Francine Prose

Francine Prose (born April 1, 1947) is an American novelist, short story writer, essayist, and critic. She is a visiting professor of literature at Bard College and was formerly president of PEN American Center.

Books in order of publication:


1973: Judah the Pious, Atheneum (Macmillan reissue 1986

1974: The Glorious Ones, Atheneum (Harper Perennial reissue 2007)

1977: Marie Laveau, Berkley Publishing Corp.

1978: Animal Magnetism, G.P. Putnam’s Sons.

1981: Household Saints, St. Martin’s Press

1983: Hungry Hearts, Pantheon

1986: Bigfoot Dreams, Pantheon

1992: Primitive People, Farrar, Straus & Giroux

1995: Hunters and Gatherers, Farrar, Straus & Giroux

2000: Blue Angel, Harper Perennial

2003: After, HarperCollins

2005: A Changed Man, HarperCollins– winner of the 2006 Dayton Literary Peace Prize for fiction

2007: Bullyville, HarperTeen

2008: Goldengrove, HarperCollins

2009: Touch, HarperTeen

2011: My New American Life, Harper

2012: The Turning, HarperTeen

2014: Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932, Harper

2016: Mister Monkey, Harper

2021: The Vixen, Harper

Short story collections

1988: Women and Children First, Pantheon

1997: Guided Tours of Hell, Metropolitan

1998: The Peaceable Kingdom, Farrar Straus & Giroux

Children’s picture books

2005: Leopold, the Liar of Leipzig, illustrated by Einav Aviram, HarperCollins


2002: The Lives of the Muses: Nine Women and the Artists They Inspired, HarperCollins

2003: Gluttony, Oxford University Press– second in a series about the seven deadly sins

2003: Sicilian Odyssey, National Geographic

2005: Caravaggio: Painter of Miracles, Eminent Lives

2006: Reading Like a Writer, HarperCollins

2008: The Photographs of Marion Post Wolcott. Washington, DC: Library of Congress

2009: Anne Frank: The Book, the Life, the Afterlife, HarperCollins

2015: Peggy Guggenheim – The Shock of the Modern, Yale University Press

2020: Titian’s Pietro Aretino (with Xavier F. Salomon), The Frick Collection

%d bloggers like this: