Frank Delaney

Frank Delaney (24 October 1942 – 21 February 2017) was an Irish novelist, journalist and broadcaster.[1] He was the author of The New York Times best-seller Ireland,[2] the non-fiction book Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea, and many other works of fiction, non-fiction and collections.[3] He was born in Tipperary, Ireland.[4]


  • The Last Storyteller (2012, Random House)
  • The Matchmaker of Kenmare (2011, Random House)
  • Venetia Kelly’s Traveling Show (2010, Random House)
  • Shannon, A Novel (2009, Random House)
  • Tipperary, A Novel (2007, Random House)
  • Ireland, A Novel (2005, Harper Collins & Time Warner)
  • At Ruby’s (2001, Harper Collins)
  • Jim Hawkins and the Curse of Treasure Island (2001, Orion)
  • Pearl (1999, Harper Collins)
  • Desire and Pursuit (1998, Harper Collins)
  • A Stranger in their Midst (1995, Harper Collins)
  • Telling the Pictures (1994, Harper Collins)
  • The Sins of the Mothers (1992, Harper Collins)
  • My Dark Rosaleen (1989, Century Hutchinson)
  • The Amethysts (1977, Harper Collins)


  • Undead (2011, Rosetta Books)
  • Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea (2006, Random House)
  • A Walk to the Western Isles: After Boswell and Johnson (1993, HarperCollins)
  • Legends of the Celts (1989, Hodder & Stoughton)
  • A Walk in the Dark Ages (1988, HarperCollins)
  • The Celts (1986, Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Betjeman Country (1983, Hodder & Stoughton)
  • James Joyce’s Odyssey (1981, Hodder & Stoughton)


  • The Folio Society/Hutchinson Book of Essays (1990, Folio Society & Century Hutchinson)
  • The Folio Book of Irish Short Stories (1999, Folio Society)
  • The Poems of Christy Brown
  • The Landleaguers by Anthony Trollope (Folio Society)
  • Short Stories from the Strand (Folio Society)
  • The Novels of James Kennaway
  • The Go-Between by L.P. Hartley (Folio Society)
  • Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson (Folio Society)
  • Caitriona by Robert Louis Stevenson (1988, Folio Society)
  • Silver Apples, Golden Apples; Best Loved Irish Verse (1987, Blackstaff Press)


  • Goodbye, Mr. Chips (2003, from the James Hilton book, directed by Stuart Orme. Aired on ITV in London and Masterpiece Theatre)
  • Across the River and into the Trees (2001, from the Ernest Hemingway novella, for Working Title Television, London, not produced)
  • Telling the Pictures (1995, from Delaney’s own novel, under option with Spikings Entertainment, Los Angeles)
  • My Dark Rosaleen (1993, From Delaney’s own novella, endowed by the European Script Fund)
%d bloggers like this: