Franklin Robert (Robert Adams)

Franklin Robert (1933-1990) was an American author of Fantasy and Science Fiction novels. He is famously known for his Horseclans novels which he wrote under the name Robert Adams, a short form of his full name.

Adams is among the first writers to venture into the post-holocaust novel. The Horseclans novels are the predecessors to a lot of current trials of this genre of story. Many of today’s books do not bring out the diligent, detailed view of the world or the plot that Adams could hatch but still make it very easy to follow. Most of his Horseclans books are intertwined, and they only bring out meaning when they are read in chronological order.

Books in order of publication:

Castaways in Time Books

Castaways in Time(1979) 
The Seven Magical Jewels of Ireland(1985) 
Of Quests and Kings(1986) 
Of Chiefs and Champions(1987) 
Of Myths and Monsters(1988) 
Of Beginnings and Endings(1989) 

Horseclans Books

The Coming of the Horseclans(1975) 
Swords of the Horseclans(1976) 
Revenge of the Horseclans(1977) 
A Cat of Silvery Hue(1979) 
The Savage Mountains(1980) 
The Patrimony(1980) 
Horseclans Odyssey(1981) 
The Death of a Legend(1981) 
The Witch Goddess(1982) 
Bili the Axe(1983) 
Champion of the Last Battle(1983) 
A Woman of the Horseclans(1983) 
Horses of the North(1985) 
A Man Called Milo Morai(1986) 
The Memories of Milo Morai(1986) 
Trumpets of War(1987) 
Madman’s Army(1987) 
The Clan of the Cats(1988) 

Stairway to Forever Books

The Stairway to Forever(1988) 
Monsters and Magicians(1989) 
Guideposts To Danger(1990) 


Friends of the Horseclans(1987) 
Robert Adams’ Book of Alternate Worlds(1987) 
Barbarians 2(1988) 
Hunger for Horror(1988) 
Robert Adams’ Book of Soldiers(1988) 
Friends of the Horseclans II(1989) 
%d bloggers like this: