George Orwell

George Orwell is a pen name used by English author Eric Arthur Blair. He was born in 1903 in Bengal and died in 1950. Orwell is known for his fictional novels that have been made into such movies as several versions of 1984 and full-length feature Animal Farm in 1954.

He attended Eton, where he received his education. He served in Burma with the Indian Imperial Police and after he was done decided to go back to Europe to write for income, making money putting down essays and novels.

Orwell was a man that focused on politics in his writing and turned his attention to the times that he lived in. He was a man that possessed feelings of great passion and intensity. He was massively opposed to the concept and practice of totalitarianism.

Books in order of publication:

Standalone Novels

Burmese Days(1934) 
A Clergyman’s Daughter(1935) 
Keep the Aspidistra Flying(1936) 
Coming Up for Air(1939) 
Animal Farm(1945) 

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Down and Out in Paris and London(1933) 
The Road to Wigan Pier(1937) 
Homage to Catalonia(1938) 
Dickens, Dali and Others(1946) 
Shooting an Elephant(1950) 
British Pamphleteers(1951) 
Critical Essays(1951) 
England Your England and Other Essays(1953) 
Selected Essays/Inside the Whale and Other Essays(1957) 
Selected Writings(1958) 
The Collected Essays, Journalism and Letters(1961) 
The Lion and the Unicorn(1962) 
Decline of the English Murder and Other Essays(1965) 
As I Please, 1943-1945(1968) 
A Collection of Essays(1970) 
An Age Like This 1920-1940(1971) 
In Front of Your Nose 1945-1950(1971) 
My Country Right or Left 1940-1943(1980) 
The English People(1982) 
The Penguin Essays of George Orwell(1984) 
The War Broadcasts(1985) 
Orwell The Lost Writings(1985) 
War Commentaries(1985) 
Orwell: The War Commentaries(1985) 
Selected Prose(1991) 
The Sayings of George Orwell(1994) 
Pages From a Scullion’s Diary(1995) 
All Propaganda is Lies(1999) 
Facing Unpleasant Facts(1999) 
I Belong to the Left(1999) 
I Have Tried to Tell the Truth(1999) 
It Is What I Think(1999) 
Keeping Our Little Corner Clean(1999) 
A Kind of Compulsion(1999) 
Our Job is to Make Life Worth Living(1999) 
A Patriot After All(1999) 
Smothered Under Journalism(1999) 
Two Wasted Years(1999) 
Orwell and Politics(2001) 
Orwell and the Dispossessed(2001) 
Orwell in Spain(2001) 
Orwell’s England(2001) 
Orwell: The ‘Observer’ Years(2003) 
Why I Write(2004) 
Orwell In Tribune(2007) 
Books v. Cigarettes(2008) 
All Art Is Propaganda(2008) 
Orwell: A Celebration(2009) 
Narrative Essays(2009) 
Such, Such Were the Joys and Other Essays(2010) 
A Life in Letters(2010) 
Orwell on Truth(2017) 
Notes on Nationalism(2018) 
Orwell on Freedom(2018)
%d bloggers like this: