Gerald Brenan

Edward FitzGerald “Gerald” Brenan, CBE, MC (7 April 1894 – 19 January 1987) was a British writer and hispanist who spent much of his life in Spain.

Brenan is best known for The Spanish Labyrinth, a historical work on the background to the Spanish Civil War, and for South from Granada: Seven Years in an Andalusian Village. He was appointed CBE in the Diplomatic Service and Overseas List of 1982.

Books in order of publication:

Jack Robinson. A Picaresque Novel (1933) as George Beaton

Doctor Partridge’s Almanack for 1935 (1934) as George Beaton

Shanahan’s Old Shebeen, or The Mornin’s Mornin’ (1940)

The Spanish Labyrinth: An Account of the Social and Political Background of the Civil War (1943)

The Spanish Scene (1946) Current Affairs No.7

The Face of Spain (1950)

The Literature of the Spanish People – From Roman Times to the Present Day (1951)

South From Granada: Seven Years in an Andalusian Village (1957)

A Holiday by the Sea (1961)

A Life of One’s Own: Childhood and Youth (1962)

The Lighthouse Always Says Yes (1966)

St John of the Cross: His life and Poetry (1973) with Lynda Nicholson

A Personal Record, 1920–1972 (1975)

The Magnetic Moment; Poems (1978)

Thoughts in a Dry Season: A Miscellany (1978)

“The Lord of the Castle and his Prisoner. He. Intended as an Autobiographical Sequence of Thoughts” (2009)

%d bloggers like this: