Glenn Patterson

Glenn Patterson (born 1961) is a writer from Belfast, best known as a novelist.

Books in order of publication:


Burning Your Own (London: Chatto and Windus, 1988)

Fat Lad (London: Chatto and Windus, 1992)

Black Night at Big Thunder Mountain (London: Chatto and Windus, 1995)

The International (London: Anchor Books, 1999)

Number 5 (London: Hamish Hamilton, 2003)

That Which Was (London: Hamish Hamilton, 2004)

The Third Party (Belfast: Blackstaff Press, 2007)

The Mill for Grinding Old People Young (London: Faber, 2012)

Gull (London: Head of Zeus, 2016)

Where Are We Now? (London: Head of Zeus, 2020)


Lapsed Protestant (Dublin: New Island Books, 2006), journalistic writings

Once Upon a Hill: Love in Troubled Times (London: Bloomsbury, 2008), memoir

Backstop Country – 2019

The Last Irish Question: Will Six into Twenty-Six Ever Go? – 2021

%d bloggers like this: