Graeme Rowland Base

Graeme Rowland Base is a successful Australian author and artist of picture books that have been sold internationally. He is perhaps best known for his second book, Animalia published in 1986, and third book The Eleventh Hour which was released in 1989.
He was born in England but moved to Australia with his family at the age of eight and has lived there ever since. He attended Box Hill High School and Melbourne High School in Melbourne, and then studied a Diploma of Art (Graphic Design) for three years at Swinburne University of Technology at Prahran.
He worked in advertising for two years and then began illustrating children’s books, gradually moving to authoring them as well.
Graeme resides in Melbourne with his wife Robyn and has three children.

Author website –

Books in order of publication:

  • Susan Burke’s The Island Bike Business (Co-illustrator with Betty Greenhatch, 1982)
  • My Grandma Lived in Gooligulch (1983)
  • Jan Anderson’s The Days of the Dinosaurs (Illustator, 1985)
  • Animalia (1986)
  • Maureen Stewart’s Creation Myths (Illustrator, 1987)
  • Lewis Carroll’s Jabberwocky (Illustrator, 1987)
  • Maureen Stewart’s Creation Stories (Illustrator, 1988)
  • The Eleventh Hour (1989)
  • The Sign of the Seahorse (1992)
  • The Discovery of Dragons (1996)
  • Lewis Carroll’s Jabberwocky: A Book of Brillig Dioramas (Illustrator, 1996)
  • The Worst Band in the Universe (1999)
  • The Waterhole (2001)
  • Truck Dogs (2003)
  • Jungle Drums (2004)
  • Uno’s Garden (2006)
  • The Discovery of Dragons: New Research Revealed (2007)
  • Enigma (2008)
  • Julie Watts’ The Art of Graeme Base (Illustrator, 2008)
  • The Legend of the Golden Snail (2010)
  • The Jewel Fish of Karnak (2011)
  • Little Elephants (2012)
  • The Gallant Captain (Co-director, with Katrina Mathers, 2013)
  • My First Animalia (2013)
  • Breather (Graphic novel co-author, 2013)
  • The Last King of Angkor Wat (2014)
  • Eye to Eye (2015)
  • Little Bug Books (A series of six toddlers’ books; 2014, 2016)
  • The Amazing Monster Detectoscope (2017)
  • Bumblebunnies (A series of four picture books; 2018–20)
  • Moonfish (2019)
%d bloggers like this: