Graham Swift

Graham Colin Swift FRSL (born May 4, 1949) is a British author. He was born in London, England and educated at Dulwich College, London, Queens’ College, Cambridge, and later the University of York. He was a friend of Ted Hughes.

Some of his works have been made into films, including Last Orders, which starred Michael Caine and Bob Hoskins and Waterland which starred Jeremy Irons. Last Orders was a joint winner of the 1996 James Tait Black Memorial Prize for fiction and a mildly controversial winner of the Booker Prize in 1996, owing to the superficial similarities in plot to William Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying. Waterland was set in The Fens; it is a novel of landscape, history and family, and is often cited as one of the outstanding post-war British novels and has been a set text on the English Literature syllabus in British schools.

Books in order of publication:


  • The Sweet-Shop Owner (1980)
  • Shuttlecock (1981) – winner of the 1983 Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize
  • Waterland (1983) – shortlisted for Booker Prize
  • Out of This World (1988)
  • Ever After (1992)
  • Last Orders (1996) – winner of the 1996 Booker Prize
  • The Light of Day (2003) – long listed for the Man Booker Prize.
  • Tomorrow (2007)
  • Wish You Were Here (2011)
  • Mothering Sunday: A Romance (2016)
  • Here We Are (2020)


  • Making an Elephant: Writing from Within (2009)

Short stories

  • Learning to Swim (1982)
  • Chemistry (2008)
  • England and Other Stories (2014)

%d bloggers like this: