Gregory Maguire

Gregory Maguire (born June 9, 1954) is an American novelist. He is the author of Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West, Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister, and several dozen other novels for adults and children. Many of Maguire’s adult novels are inspired by classic children’s stories; Wicked transforms the Wicked Witch of the West from L. Frank Baum’s 1900 book The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and its 1939 film adaptation into the misunderstood green skinned Elphaba Thropp. The blockbuster 2003 Broadway musical Wicked was inspired by Maguire’s first novel for adults. Written by Stephen Schwartz and Winnie Holzman, the musical is currently Broadway’s fifth longest-running show (surpassing Les Misérables on October 28, 2019), and at its peak nine companies ran simultaneously around the world.

Books in order of publication:

For children

The Lightning Time (1978)

The Daughter of the Moon (1980)

Lights on the Lake (1981)

The Dream Stealer (1983)

The Peace and Quiet Diner (1988)

I Feel like the Morning Star (1989)

Lucas Fishbone (1990)

Missing Sisters (1994)

Oasis (1996)

The Good Liar (1997)

Crabby Cratchitt (2000)

Leaping Beauty: And Other Animal Fairy Tales (2004)

The Hamlet Chronicles:

Seven Spiders Spinning (1994)

Six Haunted Hairdos (1997)

Five Alien Elves (1998)

Four Stupid Cupids (2000)

Three Rotten Eggs (2002)

A Couple of April Fools (2004)

One Final Firecracker (2005)

What-the-Dickens: The Story of a Rogue Tooth Fairy (2007)

Missing Sisters (2009)

Egg and Spoon (2014)

Cress Watercress (2022)

For adults

The Wicked Years:

Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West (1995)

Son of a Witch (2005)

A Lion Among Men (2008)

Out of Oz (2011)

Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister (1999)

Lost (2001)

Mirror, Mirror (2003)

The Next Queen of Heaven (2010)

Tales Told in Oz (2012)

After Alice (2015)

Hiddensee: A Tale of the Once and Future Nutcracker (2017)

A Wild Winter Swan (2020)

The Brides of Maracoor (2021)

Short stories

Scarecrow (2001), published in Half-Human edited by Bruce Coville (Note: This is the life story of the Scarecrow from The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, but is not a part of The Wicked Years.)

Fee, Fie, Foe et Cetera (2002), published in The Green Man: Tales from the Mythic Forest

The Oakthing (2004), published in The Faery Reel: Tales from the Twilight Realm

Chatterbox, published in I Believe in Water: Twelve Brushes With Religion

The Honorary Shepherds (1994), published in Am I Blue?:Coming Out From The Silence

Beyond the Fringe (1998) published in A Glory of Unicorns

The Seven Stage a Comeback (2000) published in A Wolf at the Door and Other Retold Fairy Tales

Matchless: A Christmas Story (2009)

The Silk Road Runs Through Tupperneck, N.H. (2009), published in How Beautiful the Ordinary: Twelve Stories of Identity

In That Country (2012), published in Parnassus Literary Arts Magazine


Innocence and Experience: Essays and Conversations on Children’s Literature (ed., with Barbara Harrison) (1987)

Origins of Story: On Writing for Children (ed., with Barbara Harrison) (1999)

Making Mischief: A Maurice Sendak Appreciation (2009)

%d bloggers like this: