Hermione Lee

Hermione Lee grew up in London and was educated at Oxford. She began her academic career as a lecturer at the College of William & Mary in Williamsburg, Va (Instructor, 1970-1971) and at Liverpool University (Lecturer, 1971-1977). She taught at the University of York from 1977, where over twenty years she was Lecturer, Senior Lecturer, Reader, and Professor of English Literature. From 1998-2008 she was the Goldsmiths’ Chair of English Literature and Fellow of New College at the University of Oxford. In 2008 Lee was elected President of Wolfson College, University of Oxford.

Lee is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, a Fellow of the British Academy and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and an Honorary Fellow of St Hilda’s and St Cross Colleges, Oxford. She has Honorary Doctorates from Liverpool and York Universities. In 2003 she was made a Commander of the British Empire for Services to Literature.

Books in order of publication:

  • The Novels of Virginia Woolf (1977)
  • Elizabeth Bowen: An Estimation (1981)
  • Philip Roth (1982)
  • Willa Cather: Double Lives (1989)
  • Virginia Woolf (1996)
  • Body Parts: Essays on Life-Writing (2002)
  • Virginia Woolf’s Nose: Essays on Biography (2005)
  • Edith Wharton (2007)
  • Biography: A Very Short Introduction (2009)
  • Penelope Fitzgerald: A Life (2013)
  • Lives of Houses (editor, with Kate Kennedy, 2020)
  • Tom Stoppard: A Life (2020)
%d bloggers like this: