Hilma Wolitzer

Hilma Wolitzer (b. 1930) is a critically hailed author of literary fiction. She is a recipient of Guggenheim and National Endowment for the Arts fellowships, an American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature, and a Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Award. Her first short story appeared in print when she was thirty-six. Eight years later she published her first novel. Her novels and stories have drawn praise for illuminating the dark interiors of the American home. She lives in New York City.

Books in order of publication:


Ending (1974)

In the Flesh (1977)

Hearts (1980)

In the Palomar Arms (1983)

Silver (1988)

Tunnel of Love (1994)

The Doctor’s Daughter (2006)

Summer Reading (2007)

An Available Man (2012)

YA fiction

Introducing Shirley Braverman (1975)

Out of Love (1976)

Toby Lived Here (1980)

Wish You Were Here (1984)


The Company of Writers (2001)

Short story collections

Today a Woman Went Mad in the Supermarket (2021)

%d bloggers like this: